Tru-Spec H2O Proof Gen I ECWCS Parka - TRU-SPEC
Tru-Spec H2O Proof Gen I ECWCS Parka
Average Rating: Average Rating: 3.5 Stars
Description

Three layer, windproof, waterproof and breathable construction and taped seams keep the weather at bay in this rain gear by Tru-Spec.
User Reviews
Tru-Spec vs MILSPEC
Rating: 3.0 Stars
It does shed water and with the liner will break the wind and keep you warm in mild winter weather. You will have to wear more for colder extremes to stay warm. The size runs small like most off-shore aftermarket products. I ordered a large expecting it to be oversized to fit over bulky clothes like the MILSPEC version but I was wrong. It fits snug like a normal jacket you wear over normal clothes, so you need to order one size larger. The zipper is a complete piece of crap because it doesn't work like a normal zipper Instead of fulling on the tab you have to hold the slider down against the end with your whole right hand with your thumb pushing the slider down with your other fingers pulling the righthand side zipper up to keep it tensioned. With your left hand, you grip the tab with you thumb and index finger and put your middle finger underneath the slider to push the slider up at the same time your using your ring and pinky fingers to pull the left-hand side zipper down. You need to do all that at the same time to get the two-way zipper to properly line up. With a little practice ypu will get the hang of it. It's without a doubt the most unorthodox way to zip anything but it's the only way to zip this parka without destroying the poorly designed/built zipper. Included are some Velcro tabs for a ruff which isn't available.
John - November 22, 2013

Cheap, but...
Rating: 1.0 Stars
Cheap compared to other brands, but expensive for the piece of junk that it is. Zipper never worked...Sized too small...removable fleece is a joke. Colors are not spec. This really doesn't belong in the USCAV lineup.
Eric - December 15, 2010

Seriously
Rating: 1.0 Stars
Ok guys i purchased this for my son and here we go lol, In my opinion dont even bother with this cheap imported jacket(or any military clothing from uscav). Color fades pink and doesnt even come close to matching standard acu military pattern/color. Its useless for on duty, if i were to wear this into my office i would be the laughing stock for a month. For real guys buy from propper its standard military issue and is worth every penny when it comes to quality/durability/pattern/color/fading and sizing because its MILITARY ISSUE. ps. it can also be purchased by civilians. Thanks
Justin - December 6, 2010

ECWCS Parka
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I just recived this item today, the GEN 1 Parka. It comes with a fleece lineing that can be zipped out. now the fleece is nothing to brag about, my sleeves were not short. It did not have the hook and loop tapes on it although they were in a small bag attached to the color wich is good if your non MIL persons. the jacket is heavy and comfy. i did buy the next size up and fits great. Im not sure about the ACU pattern i bought the Woodland because that is the pattern we wore when i was in but its ok, the stripes are kinda sharp but not a biggy.
Erik - October 15, 2010

Great.
Rating: 4.0 Stars
Read the reviews about running small, so I bought a size up and it fit perfectly. the fleece isn't anything special, but it does zip in fine and has snaps to secure it to the shell. However, the standard issue ruff does not fit this jacket, the snaps are incompatible.
Scott - September 17, 2010

Excellent!
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Ive not noticed any of the problems mentioned in the review such as pinkish color, being out of spec, or poor zipper construction. A few points to make: 1. The size does run small and short. The Small fit me very much in the way that a (small/short) or (small/x-short) USGI does which is a huge plus for me as I normally have to buy genuins USGI because the shorter sizes (big bucks and hard to find!). 2. If you did not receive a liner with velcroe, I would contact USCav. Mine did come with it as shown. 3. The neck area can get a little bunched up in the front and make it tough to keep the lapel down. I suspect this may be due to the permanent exposed hood. Not a deal breaker by any means, just noticable. 4. The rank loop attachment seemed to be a little wide for the loop that I received. Im not sure which was out of spec, but after some cramming and a bit of massaging it does go on and looks fine. All in all I can say that im very happy with my purchase and it serves me as needed. Seeing as how our SDF does not operate under the conditions and duration of time as our boys overseas in combat, I find $90 alot easier to swallow than $300+.
Byron - February 24, 2010

Color limits use
Rating: 2.0 Stars
The color of my Gen 1 jacket is so far off Mil-Spec I can't wear it as an MP. I have purchased a Mil-Spec Gen III jacket from a different vendor so I can actually wear the jacket on duty. The zipper for the fleece has separated several times all on its own. What were they thinking with the drawstring waist on the fleece? As others have said I am normally a MED/REG, but with this jacket the MED/REG only fits if the fleece is not included. This is AFTER I had lost 25lbs too!
Enda - January 28, 2010

Great Parka! Size too small! Fleece...?
Rating: 4.0 Stars
Of course I had the same issue with the size being too small. But other than that the parka is great, especially in the wind. The fleece, well, not so great. The sleeves are a bit shorter and they tend to pull up. I won't be able to wear just the fleece by it self. Anyway, for the price, it is a great parka!
Sly - January 12, 2010

GET ONE SIZE LARGER, RUNS SMALL
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Pretty good for the price. Order one size larger than your issue size, runs small.
Phillip - January 25, 2009

Nice Parka!!! What Fleece ?
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I was skeptical about buying the jacket after reading the reviews, but I did and was pleasantly surprised with its performance. I was standing dead still in heavy rain for a while during color guard and it held out against all of it. The fleece on the other hand was incorrectly described in the info. It is just a fleece, no name tape Velcro, no rank Velcro, nothing. Just a cheap fleece. I am trying to see if they gave me the wrong one, but as of now, nothing from uscav.
Michael - September 7, 2008

pretty good
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I just got this parka a day ago and tried it out for a 5 mile hike in the driving wind and pouring rain we get here ,not to mention the cold.I took the liner out and just wore a sweater,and let me tell ya guys and girls for the price it worked EXCELLENTLY.Kept me warm and dry,no soak through whatsoever.Only complaint is I usally wear a large reg,but saw some reviews that said it runs a size small,so I got a extra large .Glad i did it fit like a large regular.
calman - April 30, 2008

mine was just fine...
Rating: 5.0 Stars
a bit noisy when you move other than that mine was great kept everything in my pockets dry etc. no loose strings except one attached to zipper but that thing was not even needed you just pull the zipper instead of the string. worked great in the cold too, -15 degrees outside and I was weaing this, pants gen 1 ecws pants and a shirt and underarmour and I was warm toasty and dry. rain snow sleet and hail this has held out for me. oh and this zipper is alot like a zipper for another jacket I have you just have to know how to work with it, you pull the large zipper down the second zipper down keep it taught place the end in and zip it up. Strange zipper configuration but it works for me.
Wilford - March 9, 2008

Good buy
Rating: 4.5 Stars
For the price, this jackset is an excellent buy. It is not an arctic cold level jacket. But for daily use, it is an excellent item. In light rain or windy cold, I have been very comfortable. It wears well and does not catch on seatbelts and webgear (LBE, LBV, or IBA). It has withstood use and abuse. Again, for the price, this is a good item to have.
Sidney - January 18, 2008

Not Good
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Lightweight,easy to use but not waterproof!After less than five minutes in rain I was wet,the notebook in the pockets you name it ,it was wet.Better off buying a plastic coat from academy.Not worth the money
Che - July 5, 2007

problem
Rating: 0.5 Stars
this morning i tryed to unzip my jacket and one of the zipper came off.
Matthew - March 16, 2007

Piece of Crap
Rating: 0.5 Stars
This is the poorest quality item I have ever worn. We get what we pay for with this Parka. When it was shipped to me it was delivered with a hole in the front pocket, strings on every seam that I burned off, and a zipper that never seemed to connect at the bottom of the zipper correctly. The zipper is the reason I am writing this. Out in the cold and wet elements is where I want to have an equipment failure. I went to unzip this P.O.S. and the zipper fell right off. $85 is a good price to pay until the parka self-destructs on you. It is warm and keeps you dry but buyer beware.
Kevin - March 14, 2007

ECWCS Gen I Parka
Rating: 5.0 Stars
On Feb 9, 07 we had a barricaded hostage situation. We were in position for several hours. Our new parkas came in very handy. All the guys were very impressed on how warm they were. Thanks, Kevin L. Black Iredell County Sheriff's Office SERT
Kevin - February 28, 2007

sizing
Rating: 4.0 Stars
this jacket seems to run on the small side. i orderd the ezact size as the one i was isuued, and the sleeves on this on were a good 1.5 in. shorter than my other jacket.also, the torso size was a bit smaller. just order 1 size bigger than you normally would and its great...quality is great too...
christopher - February 1, 2007

Excellent All Weather Jacket
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This Parka is excellent for anyone who works in the wind & rain. Great work Jacket!
Timothy - February 1, 2007

Evil Robot Tech
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This jacket is a great alternative to the original issued parkas. I own the original gen1 and only the slanted pockets and the zip in fleece give it away as a mil-spec. I travel once a year to Rock-Am-Ring in Germany (over 80 Bands) and in 2006 it was around 40 Degrees Fahrenheit at night...Hi,Hi,Hi. This parka became my second skin so to speak. The event is located in the Eifel mountains so it also was raining with wind up to 35 Miles and more.... This parka is superb ! Great protection from anything nature can throw at you. Rock On !
Marcus - January 27, 2007

OKAY, but...
Rating: 3.5 Stars
A little gas got on it and it turned pink like M9 paper does. It also has a pink tinge to it.
andrew - January 5, 2007

my review...
Rating: 3.0 Stars
It is important to understand that this jacket is NOT the real thing. I bought this parka because of the attractive price tag. For the price this is a great buy. It will serve its purpose but it is not made like the official issues. It is made of cheap materials and is off-colored (the colors are a little more brilliant than they should... pinkish). But for the price, it is a good buy as long as you understand that cheap price= cheap quality.
Ben - January 4, 2007

low quality
Rating: 1.0 Stars
looks nice, fits well, but the liner is super thin. within four or five weeks, the elastic in both arms of one liner has broken,the satin like lining has come un stitched and is hanging loose. where there is no klining, the fleece is all pilled up. I bought a second liner for my woodland coat, and the lining is coming out of that one also. many of the seams in the shell are crooked, overlaped, with many stings as long as three or four inches long had to be trimmed or burned off. next time i'll try the propper
John - December 15, 2006

This jacket is awesome!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I was pleasantly surprised at the great quality for the price. I bought it instead of the Propper brand issue version because it was so much cheaper and there were good reviews on this website. It's a greaT buy!
Todd - September 2, 2006

Good Deal!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I just received my parka. It has the same weight and feel as my DCU Gortex did PLUS it came with the fleece jacket and hat. I can't tell the difference between the Gortex (which I had to turn back in when we left ocuntry) and this one. It's not cold yet, but if it works 1/2 as well as the Gortex I got my money's worth.
richard - August 19, 2006

Size runs small
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Great jacket. The size runs a bit small across the chest and the waist of the pants. In addition, the pants came to the top of my boots. I wear a medium regular in BDUs/ACUs and in the government issue woodland pattern ECWCS. I originally ordered the Medium Regular Jacket and Pants and found them restrictive... especially with the liner in the jacket. I reordered the same set in a large regular.
Robert - July 19, 2006

Great Value
Rating: 4.5 Stars
This jacket is great buy. The price is right and the quality is awesome.
ERICK - April 27, 2006

Good
Rating: 4.5 Stars
The parka is great, it is water proof and verry warm, so warm sometimes I can only wear it when it is really cold. The only problem that I have with it so far is the button straps that keep the liner arms in place. The first time I tried to pull out my arms the straps broke. I am not real rough with my gear, I believe in be good to your gear and it will be good to you.
Jason - March 26, 2006

Pretty Good
Rating: 3.5 Stars
I bought the black ecwcs h2o parka. This is a nice jacket, the fleece inside helps with warmth alot too. It is fully waterproof, which is ideal. I only have 2 issues with this parka. 1. The Size: I wear med/reg normally, i had to buy a large/reg because the med/reg length was too short! 2. The Zipper: It is frustrating, it doesn't stay straight, and takes multiple attempts to work. Other than that, this is a great parka.
John - March 5, 2006