Tru-Spec Army Combat Uniform (ACU) Trousers - TRU-SPEC
Tru-Spec Army Combat Uniform (ACU) Trousers
Average Rating: Average Rating: 4 Stars
Description

Mil-Spec construction, forward-tilted cargo pockets and pouches for padded knee inserts (Sold Separately).
User Reviews
Tough pants
Rating: 5.0 Stars
These are very comfortable and I would recommend them over any pants with the 65/35 blend as those can be uncomfortable. They fit very well and the tru-spec sizing was not weird like another reviewer pointed out. These pants blend in well for most environments except for green foliage.
Ben - May 31, 2009

1LT
Rating: 4.0 Stars
If you make yourself a target, it isn't really going to matter what type of camo you have on. Stop whining about things you don't like and offer some valid, useful ideas about improvements. Wear it with some pride, unless you'd rather be wearing a rag on your head. Most women aren't even so verbal about what they wear.
Timothy - February 25, 2009

Just as Good as AAFES Uniforms
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Being in the Guard and one of the big guys, I was having trouble finding my size at AAFES so I chose to order these, I was nervous due to hearing all kinds of things such as not matching, falling apart, and etc. Well, let me just say this, they are perfect. Top never even knew that I wasn't wearing Offical Issue. They are the same in every way. One great thing I did notice was that it was a little cheaper here than at AAFES. So if you are buying your ACUs I would suggest trying these. Super Buy and Great uniform.
SSG - February 4, 2007

Crotch Rip! Bad News!
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Hey don't feel so bad... i know exactly what thats like, thing is though, you dont want to wear your subloads or pads too high or too tight this will put the seams in the crotch area of the pants under lots of stress. This is normal with all uniform pants. Its happened before to all of us but there are different ways to prevent it. just find what works for you and stick. ORDO AB CHAO!
Ian - January 11, 2007

COMPLAINT!!!!!!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
These pants arenot what they are all cracked up to be. A sugestion from me would be to not wear tactical knee pad with your pants. The second time I played paintball in them It was in the middle of the game and I spotted one man from the opposeing team and knelt to the crouch/pron to take my shot. All of a sudden RIPPPPPPPPP right at the croch. Oh yea second tine I wore them
marcia - November 23, 2006

ACU Pattern Works
Rating: 5.0 Stars
A lot of folks think this camo pattern sucks. I did too when I first saw it. When I was in BCT I got to see about an effective a demonstration of this camo pattern as you can get. We were issued BDU's (one of the last classes at Ft. Sill to get them), but our body armor was ACU pattern, so our torso was ACU, the rest of us was BDU. It was dusk and our platoon was pulling a perimeter security detail during a FTX near the edge of a tall grass field. I happened to look around at my platoon mates and lo and behold, every limb and head wearing BDU was clearly visible, while the ACU patterned body armor simply disappeared into the background. I was converted to a believer right then and there. I don't know exactly why it works, but it surely does. And like another poster said, you wear what the Army tells you to wear - you can gripe if you want to, but it won't get you anywhere.
MITCHELL - September 11, 2006

Good 2nd Choice
Rating: 4.5 Stars
If the standard issue maker of ACU is not availible this uniform is great! I have used this uniform, and it has stood the test. It wears well if you take care of it. Wash it in cool water and dry it on low heat you will have no problems. The only thing I have to say bad is that after the first wash I had lots of lose threads to cut off. If you need to replace your uniform, and can save money buying this uniform great!
Roger - August 9, 2006

Re- Just like the army to do this
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I think it is a little selfish to say you have done a field test. If you have you would have known what the so called upside down pockets are. They are for knee pads , the shirt also has them for elbow pads. As far as the camo pattern being effective. Put someone in BDU's out in an open field and someone wearing ACU's and see who is more noticeable
Mike - July 3, 2006

People should give the ACUs a chance!!!!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Some people are complaining about the ACU camoflauge and about how it doesn't blend in enough. A little info: the ACU digital camo was developed more for night time operations and camoflauge. The camo is made to be less visible at night, particularly through night vision equipment, not so much for high noon in the middle of the jungle!!!!! Plus, the camo is made to be universal so it's not going to be perfect for every environmet but it does work for every environment. The ACUs are fantstic...o...and ya, the army didn't rip them off from the Marine Corp!
Steven - May 8, 2006

Outstanding uniform
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This uniform is it. It is about time the Army went to functionality over cosmetic. I wore the second generation ACUs in Iraq (they were called CCUs then) and that is all I wore. I really can't understand why people have to whine about the new uniform. I guess some people just have to complain about something. P.S. that calf storage pocket holds a 30rd Mag perfectly but if you do do that put some 100 MPH tape on the sharp edges of the bottom of the Mag.
Robert - November 29, 2005

poor camo quality
Rating: 0.5 Stars
If you are looking for a nice clean uniform that is easy to maintain and that you will look sharp in then this is it. Good for utility purposes, wear and tear etc. On the other hand if you actually want to blend in with your surroundings then avoid these like the plague. Camo pattern sticks out like a sore thumb in every enviroment and I couldnt be paid enough to wear these if I was being shot at. Someone below said that these were ripped off from the marines? Well actually the marines ripped their marpat off of the canadian cadpat and the army had been developing digital camo since the early 90's so I doubt any ripping off was done on their part. Still I really wish the army had ripped of the marpat cause the camo pattern of the acu looks like it was designed by a crack addict.
John - November 27, 2005

Stop Complaining
Rating: 5.0 Stars
First off if the people in charge tell me I am going to wear something I do it. This is the Army we follow orders. Sure there may be some downfalls to this uniform but they will get fixed. Has anyone tryed putting in a suggestion through the proper channels or just on here where it really doesn't matter. SSG Giles Stop thinking about it and do it!!
David - November 8, 2005

nice
Rating: 5.0 Stars
great lookin uniform..for the guy that said, whats up with the upside down pocket on the leg..buddy thats a knee pad pouch.
Sean - November 4, 2005

They have come a long way!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I have read many of the reviews here and I have some comments of my own. There seems to be a lot of discussion about the Velcro pockets. I formally worked with the special ops community and they had non-standard BDUs with slanted pockets and Velcro long before the ACU was developed. I never heard one complaint about them. They chose to ware these. Additionally, when you are in combat you are normally in body armor that covers your Velcro pockets on you shirt. By the way, the latest body armor has Velcro fasteners and pockets. That shoots down the idea that Velcro will destroy noise discipline. Another complaint is that the patches and name tags come off too easily. Again this shouldn’t be a problem when body armor is worn. Often in combat sterile uniforms are a required. Not to mention, this feature saves the money spent on sewing. The next complaint is that the fabric on the ACU is too weak. I might agree with you there, but that it is something that will continue to be addressed through out the future production runs of the ACU. The older folks remember how many different versions of the BDU were developed before the Army settled on the final version of today. The idea of the digital pattern is great, but I am not totally convinced that the current scheme is sufficient for desert and woodland terrain. Again this is something that should be addressed in future runs. By far the best feature of this uniform is that it is wash and wear. I for one always found the pressing and starching of the old uniforms a pain and expensive. Now I just take it out of the dryer and put it on. In short, I think the army is right on track. And by the way, airborne and special operations have been wearing berets for decades. You don’t hear them complaining.
George - October 21, 2005

just like the army to do this
Rating: 2.5 Stars
this is just like the Army, ripping off the Marines (best branch!!) and making a version of their own. i did a field test and they don’t blend into desert or woodland! the pockets on the calves are useful and readily accessible in combat. What i can’t understand is, what the pockets on the lower leg for? They have a upside down pocket on the front of the leg, and another on the left side. (Left leg, left side. Right leg, right side. You get the picture) What are those for? I can understand putting a bag of Quick Clot in that pocket, or other items. But then you have it (what you have in that pocket) bouncing off your shin when you run. Then you have the upside down pocket. WTF?! That would better placed on the thigh next to the bigger pocket and have a piece of fabric sticking out for a quick access. This is what I think. You might agree or disagree with me, I don’t care. Me? I use them as ridding pants. (quad, dirt bike everything)
Matt - October 20, 2005

First Sergeant
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I think the the new ACU is a great improvement...
JOHN - October 20, 2005

Great Product
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I myself am not a fan of the new digital uniforms that are just now coming out. However, the material used to make these are strong and dont require much ironing. I dont like the pockets on this uniform and the way they attach. If you needed a map in close quarters then your SOL with these things. Overall its about a 4.
Micah - September 20, 2005

it's a terrific material!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I am very pleased to express my appreciation for this item: comfortable, strong, it meets every soldier's needs. Excuse me for my english!
maurizio - September 13, 2005

I liked it alot
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I think youall have a great thing going.