Tru-Spec Army Combat Uniform (ACU) Shirt - TRU-SPEC
Tru-Spec Army Combat Uniform (ACU) Shirt
Average Rating: Average Rating: 4 Stars
Description

Improved concealment in desert, urban and woodland environments by eliminating sharp lines of contrast that draw enemy eyes.
User Reviews
Better Than Expected
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Read all the other reviews before buying. Most of the reviews are pretty old (today'date: 4/20/2012) by at least 4 years! I bought pants, shirt, hat and backpack. I was expecting the sizes to be smaller so I selected the next size up and was surprised to see they were true to size! People were complaining about the crouch ripping apart and buttons falling off but the buttons are all stitched well and the crouch is not only double stitched but there is also an added triangulated patch that is also double stitched into the crouch where everything is sewn together. So they fixed all the issues that people were complaining about - way to go TRU-SPEC! I placed the order over the weekend and 3 days later I got my shipment delivered - way to go USCAV.COM! I would (and have) recommended USCAV.COM and TRU-SPEC! My only complaint was that there was a lot of extra thread left in pockets. The stitching is all solid but I am concerned by the amount of thread that I have removed from pockets - is it just left over thread from the manufacturing process or is it thread that should be in the stitching? Only time will tell, but all I can say now is the stitching appears to be solid.
Eric - April 21, 2012

Decent, tops are larger than expected
Rating: 3.0 Stars
I ordered Large Long bottoms and Large Long tops. The bottoms seem to be fine, but the tops are more like Large Regular (much wider in the waist area).
Christopher - April 18, 2008

Good
Rating: 4.5 Stars
The shirt is of great build quality. Being a civilian i'm not positive it will hold up to the rigors of active duty but as a weekend mil-simmer these are very well built. Only complaint is the mandarin collar is kind of annoying at times and when drinking (I have a big adams apple lol) it feels like im being strangled. Other then that its perfect!
Jamie - April 16, 2008

My Own
Rating: 5.0 Stars
The first review I wrote on this was for my brother's Tru-Spec ACUs. This is for the shirt I got. So far it feels the same as my Propper shirt which was very comfortable and lightweight. I did notice the stitching was coming apart in a few places but that's how my Propper shirt and pants were. It wasn't really that it was coming apart. It was just a few stitches were loose. It wasn't like you pulled them from the uniform. They were all in the pockets. And so far, paintballing in the woods has not been a problem at all with it. The reason I got a Tru Spec one is because it's cheaper and made of basically the same material as Propper. Not to mention the Propper one I got, I bought it a few sizes to big so I decided to get a Tru-Spec one for cheaper in my size. All this whining and complaining isn't gonna make the Army adopt a new uniform. I've done very well camouflaging myself in the woods and be quiet about the Velcro. I haven't had it snag once. And US Cav did a very good job of getting it out here fast. Usually 2 to 4 days.
Sean - September 14, 2007

To Jeremiah
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Hey I got my brother a pair of these and Tru-Spec is no different than my propper other than the price. He goes fourwheeling and paintballing and so far his Tru-Spec ACUs haven't torn. Neither have my Propper ACUs. So I think Jeremiah just got a bad pair.
Sean - August 17, 2007

Hate it.
Rating: 0.5 Stars
Tru-Spec ACU's are absolutley worthless. I ordered 2 pairs of them simply to wear to training. The training is almost all indoors in climate controlled enviroments, and they are falling apart. Buttons falling off, stitching unravels. Horrible. I cant even wear them to school because they look so shoddy they wont pass any sort of inspection. Do not buy Tru-Spec.
Jeremiah - June 24, 2007

ACU Not so great
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I wear ACUs every day. I am in the active army and my personal opinion on them is that they dont work. I have used them in many different enviroments. Ther is still some Soilders who wear the old BDU uniforms and when we are in the field the difference is incredible. BDUs work ACUs dont esspacially at night.
Timothy - February 18, 2007

a.c.u. class uniform
Rating: 5.0 Stars
the best so far...comfort and design. say good bye to starch and iron.
nessel - June 30, 2006

ACU is OK
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I like the ACU fit and feel better than the BDU. I am just not wild about the pattern. I think the MARPAT and CADPAT got it right with 2 different patterns. To me the DCU worn by 3/2 ID in 2003/04 in Iraq was the uniform to have.
Ronald - April 5, 2006

ACU
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Awesome uniform to wear...beats the old ones.
Wilfredo - March 18, 2006

1SG
Rating: 5.0 Stars
EASY TO WEAR AND KEEP CLEAR....LITE...MOVES WITH YOU
Oscar - March 17, 2006

ACU's In Iraq
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I have just returned from Iraq and I can tell you from personel experience that the new ACU's work pretty damn well. 1. Rank hidden by vest- Your Rank should be on the outside of your vest in the first place. 2. Velcro makes noise- The velcro just isn't that loud to be a factor in the new combat arena- 3. Patches fall off when caught on tree- They are made to be taken off. 3. Uniform stains- Apparently you forgot about all the stains on the BDU's already. The only bad thing we have found with the uniform is the knee area is a bit weak and tend to wear out faster than normal.
Gregory - February 1, 2006

good
Rating: 5.0 Stars
not sure if it exactly same as us army issue
michael - January 29, 2006

Nice Uniform
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I like this uniform. It does work well in woodland enviroment where i have used it. I use it for airsoft, which is a MILSIM game. I have snuck up on many people who didnt see me and were practiclly looking right at me. but its not neccesarily the uniform its the person in the uniform and how well he can sneak up on an enemy. I will say it doesnt provide really good concealment in any 1 enviroment but...ex: if in a woodland enviroment use OD, or woodland accesories to put more green in the uniform or if in the desert use desert or tan accesories. I think they should add some brown in the uniform which blends in with woodland and desert. that would be my only change....
Sean - January 22, 2006

ACU Camouflage Property
Rating: 5.0 Stars
A few words to what is (in my opinion) the most important matter concerning the new uniform. I do not serve in the US Armed Forces, but we sometimes have joint operations in different theatres. On my last deployment I was in company with both Marines and Army personnel. I know the MARPAT cammies very well from before and I find it one of the most effective camouflage patterns available, as well as CADPAT or German Flecktarn. But the reason for these patterns being so effective is simple: These are adapted colors for different environments, but they are kept separated into green and desert. The purpose of the new uniform, to combine all environments in one pattern, fails. On my last deployment we were in sandy terrain as well as in jungle area. The pattern doesn't succeed in both. I saw a few troops heading toward the edge of a wood and we could clearly spot their silhouettes, even as they disappeared more and more. They stuck out like flashlights in the night. Not only our snipers, who will detect you no matter what you're trying, but also all other team members agreed that you can spot them too easy and quite contrary to its original intent the pattern will complicate concealment. It does NOT serve the purpose.
Kurt - December 29, 2005

Excellent Hunting Apparel
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I was in the market for some new camo for the field and saw the ACU at the airport on an soldier. I knew from that point on I wanted the ACU uniform for my big game hunting trips. In September, my hunting buddy and I went to Wyoming for a Antelope hunt and he was so impressed on how well I blended into the enivironment he couldn't stop talking about it to family and friends.There is one downfall to the uniform. The velcrow pockets will make noise while opening and closing them in the field. But the camo is excellent and makes up for this discrepancy.
Robert - December 28, 2005

ACU'S ARE AWSOME
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I personality love the ACU'S I know for a fact that they work everywhere we go. YES to the person who said they suck in the woods your Lying because I have seen one of us go into the woods to take a leak and they disappeared which I think is amazing. So don't even say they don't work in the woods cause thats not true.
Corey - December 25, 2005

love them
Rating: 5.0 Stars
ok at frist when i frist heard about the acu's i was like well i dont see how they work and after getting a set i see what the armys has in mind i tryed them out in a couple diff areas and let me tell u they look gray in a white and gray back ground and look green in a woods background the green is the same green that was used in nam its a od green they are not gray at all they look it but trust me and u can ask others on them but light and nice to wear im happy with them i had to buy a set for myself to play paintball with so i wouldnt mess up my good pair and its about time the army steped up and droped those old woodlands
John - December 25, 2005

The Captain has spoken
Rating: 4.5 Stars
The new ACU is outstanding, I have read the reviews of the uniform and have some corrections to make and some points to agree with. First off, this uniform wasnt to upstage the Marines new uniform, infact the Marine digital pattern was designed by the Army. The lower pockets were removed due to lack of use on the original uniform, the upper breast pockets were designed to be used with body armor on without having to open the front of the IBA all the way, the shoulder pockets are great for items and documentation that will be used during an engagement without compromising ballistic integrity by opening the vest. The pattern does have some limitations in woodland settings, the light color of the pattern doesnt blend well but then again if someone is specifically looking for you not much is going to help short of a ghile suit. Overall the uniform is a great new addition to the Army combat element and Im more than happy to have it.
Nathan - December 22, 2005

Just some advise
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Interesting comments regarding the value of the digital pattern camo. This is not a new pattern and is remarkably similar to the German Flectarn from a distance. I've been using this camo pattern for about 3 years in the Canadian army and it works! Yes, it may look weird close up or when passing a soldier on the street, but it wasn't designed for that. As for the US varient, the zippered front is an excellent idea and is much better at keeping out dirt and crud when leopard crawling. As for the velcro, we have it on our CADPAT too...not an issue in the field but it loves to attract wool socks in the dryer. As for all the armchair commandos out there, we hunt in blaze orange here and still get the deer!
Dave - December 19, 2005

Uniform is not multipurpose
Rating: 2.0 Stars
I have taken part in a few war games here in Alaska during the summer and have competed against people using the Army issued ACU. Let me tell you it makes the wearer stick out like a soar thumb. It may work for desert and for winter operations, but in woodland, it sucks.
Steve - December 16, 2005

Outdone
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I think that everyone needs to quit bitching. The Army has designed a kickass new uniform that makes everything else to date nearly useless. This uniform can be deployed ANYWHERE, there is no need to have 50 sets of uniforms, when you have one that will work damn near anywhere you go. The recent group returning home, in which a friend of mine is with said that the guys love them, and that while it takes some getting used to, that overall, it's well worth the change. The pockets on the arms, and the IR patches are getting the ravest reviews, and I tend to agree, now you don't have to worry about digging at your waist, or worrying if your it's all covered up, your pockets are within reach, and it's all there. As for the Rank being moved, I like that idea, makes it look more like the Gortex Parka, I love the idea of velcroing everything on, it's easier to take off on missions that require it. Overall, a damned good uniform, you won't hear anything outta me that says this one is bad, much better then anything before, and the zippered Jacket, who thought of that? Talk about a smart one, easy on and easy off. Get over it boyz, the ACU is here to stay!
Matt - December 9, 2005

Staff Sergeant
Rating: 3.5 Stars
....Interesting product. The velcro on the arms are little bulky, and perhaps a little excessive. The chest pockets were designed I am assuming for the body armor plate inserts, yet no pockets exist on the abdomen. I feel like this uniform was the Army's attempt to outdo the Marines... Failed. But overall a great uniform, fits a little shorter than the old one but feels SO much lighter. This uniform is the first uniform I can wear comfortably and breath in especially with the moisture wick tees. I'm sure 2-3yrs from now the army will release an ACU new and improved.
Marcus - November 19, 2005

History of Camouflage
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Up till the ACU, the US Army has repeatedly been one step behind on camouflage. Woodland was what we wished we had in WW2, and it was thought it'd be adequate in the desert. Joint exercise Bright Star in the early 80's demonstrated that it wasn't and the 6-color desert camo was created. Fast forward to 1990. 6-color (chocolate chip) was found to be inappropriate in the SW asian desert, so 3-color (pinks) was developed. In 2003, when OIF quickly went from desert warfare to almost entirely urban, the 3-color was less than ideal. With the ACU, the army has FINALLY stopped trying to come up with another one-off pattern and has gone with a neutral pattern that, while not ideal for all situations, will be better than running around in a uniform designed specifically for a theater we were in 10 years ago. All you armchair yahoos who paintball and dirtbike and consider it a good eval of how this stuff performs are off your rockers. If you're moving fast, no camouflage works well. If you're totally motionless, even a gray tweed suit is effective. Camouflage doesn't hinder snipers at all anyway. Noise is irrelevant, as we spend most of our time ON THE MOVE anyway. Sure, the ACU gets dirty easy, but so far I've also thrown 4 sets of 3-colors in the rag bag because they were too dirty to use. That's just what happens to light colored uniforms. Suck it up. The mandarin collar and usable pockets are enough to sell me. Like I tell my guys when they complain about the weak camo: you're not Carlos Hathcock (a highly skilled sniper in Vietnam), you're a 98G (voice radio intercept-linguist). If it's good enough for the snake eaters, it's good enough for you.
John - November 15, 2005

MECHANIC
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I THINK THE ARMY DOING GOOD. I BUT CHANGE THE UNIFORM .
juan.a.rivera-santana - November 14, 2005

Wow
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I can't beleive all the ridiculous whinning I am seeing on these reviews. Get off the woodland kick. Let go of the cold war theory, we never fought there. I was in A-stan with desert BDU and woodland IBA and Molle gear how is that better then the new pattern. The bottomline is does the uniform make the mission easier. If so then it is a go. And dont whine about noise, soldiers make more noise then any patch of velcro. Rank covered by Vest? Are you kidding me? All real units have ther Rank on thier vest if they want people to know it when they are wearing the vest. Patches get torn off by a tree branch? Here is a thought take the patch off before the operations begin, that is the hole point behind the velcro. You don't gain credibility with the enemy for cool patches and badges. I makes sense and it works well...
Vic - November 9, 2005

SSG
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This uniform is long over do. I can't tell you how many times I heard the Velcro is noisy BS. Ok let me address that. The US Army is no longer fighting in a static type of battle, the battlefield is fluid and constantly changing, troops normally are not required to sit and wait in a trench or LP, OP for long periods of time. If soldiers are in a guard type of role most of them should have sense enough to have their needed equipment readily available and not need to break noise discipline to retrieve a stick of gum or the like. As for the color, we no longer are fighting in Western Europe or cold war adversaries. Are enemy’s are most commonly found in the desert in built up areas, hence the ACUPAT and color. Quit crying!!
chad - November 8, 2005

cry babies,
Rating: 5.0 Stars
to all of you complaining about the velcro and the pattern and snipers and what have you.....guess what none of that maters.....tell the s.f. guys that have used velcro for years about it.....and as far as the patches and velcro there is a reason.....simple uniform sanitation......ive had to sanitize a uniform its a pain....this is simple....also....remember we use trucks.....and vehicles....guess what those stick out worse than any uniform the army could use...plus body armor mine is green...and in the desert you can see it..snipers will see you no mater what.that is there job..besides when was the last time we were in the jungle,its been a while.....and personally...one set of uniforms in my closet insted of 4 sets of woodlands and 4 sets of deserts i enjoy alot more....sure there are some improvements that can be made.....but those will come in time.....so quit your belly achin....drink water and drive on.......
mcshane - November 1, 2005

Disappointed
Rating: 0.5 Stars
I should have seen this coming with the adaptation of the Beret, I expected more from college educations.....The primary ones pitching this somehow are not the ones wearing it in combat...the light must be better from behind a desk. Come on guys get it right!!!!! You think that they would talk to the soldier, the ones in the field, the ones getting shot at...I am disappointed...
James - October 27, 2005

New ACU
Rating: 4.0 Stars
Excellent! Very Comfortable. Blends well in a desert or urban environment. I'm sure the R&D guys tested this a million differnt ways. The boots are the best improvement. Now if we could just get rid of the beret for wear with the ACU and use the boonie hat.
Todd - October 17, 2005

realy good
Rating: 5.0 Stars
it's pretty darn good it breaks you up pretty good the camo is good in the woods it works.when your under a canopy it takes in all around green and it darkens alot in the other two desert and urban am not to suer i havent tried it there yet
andrew - October 16, 2005

NCOIC
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I love it!
Michael - October 1, 2005

Good design but horrible camo!!!!
Rating: 2.5 Stars
This uniform is very comfortable to wear, however, it's longevity in the field is of concern. In addition you stick out like a sore thumb, everywhere. As much as I hate to say this the Marines out smarted us on this one. I think pride is why we didnt follow suit. We will see how it works in Iraq.
Timothy - September 30, 2005

ACU - How many will die?
Rating: 0.5 Stars
This uniform is a mistake. 1.You can be SEEN by the enemy in this uniform 2.You can be HEARD by the enemy in this uniform 3.You can be KILLED by the enemy in this uniform 4.Velcro comes off in the feild, collects dirt and is LOUD.5.Stains easily,not good when around vehicles and equipment.6.Try low crawling in this uniform.Pockets on the arms filled with gear? 7.Ankle pocket useless.8.Rank hidden by vest.
robert - September 28, 2005

what camo?
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I am a former army grunt. WHEREis the green This camo tries to be all things and ends up being nothing. The rank and pocket placement make nice aiming points for a sniper.MAYBE it MIGHT work in a pile of rocks,or in a city. What were those R&D GUYS thinking?
jeff - September 28, 2005

best uniform the army has
Rating: 3.5 Stars
in the 27 year's that i been in the army this is the best that the army has made great uniform
charles - September 24, 2005

ACU - OK
Rating: 5.0 Stars
The new ACUs are OK, IMO. Good thinking when designing the pockets - easier access to goodies, however, the ACU pattern itself doesn't work all that well - again, IMO. I would much rather use Multi-Cam pattern.
Chris - September 21, 2005

black, velcro, and rank issues answered
Rating: 4.0 Stars
Black. Does not exist in the natural enviroment. At night, this uniform will outperform the bdu. Black is picked up easily on IR, if I'm not mistaken. Velcro and Rank. In a combat environment or mission and even field training the unit will remove all unnecessary patches...rank, name, and army at first. There will be no since in keeing them on if they will pose a danger to the unit and the mission. So...get ya'lls panties outta that wad. Pattern........Sure DA could have made a uniform for all 3 environment, desert, woods, urban, but that isn't cost effective. Most of you are placing too much faith in the camoflague factor. Face it folks, no matter what you were, unless your on a sniper team, no camoflague is going to keep you all that safe. Training will. HOOAH!
Adam - September 14, 2005

why change
Rating: 4.5 Stars
i dont undestand why the army change the bdu
FRANCISCO.BATTISTINI - September 14, 2005

Good Uniform
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Overall the ACU is a comfortable uniform, much like the ABDU used by flight crews. As for the zippers and velcro, I think it's a functional improvement, the Aviation community has been using these items for multiple generations with few problems.
Skylier - September 12, 2005

I hate velcro
Rating: 2.0 Stars
Sew on is good. Velcro is bad. I do not like the fact that patches can be pulled off by tree branches. Why are the name and branch of service velcro? I haven't changed my name since I was born. I think the Marines did a better job with their uniform. I am a little embarassed.
John - September 11, 2005

acu
Rating: 5.0 Stars
they are nice
Joshua - September 10, 2005

Another DOD BOHICA
Rating: 2.0 Stars
I recently purchased the new ACU patern uniform and gave it a workout in a variety of situations. The pros of this outfit are that the pockets on the chest are easier to got into with the velcro closure and the new angle. The sleeve pockets are nice but do leave some to be desired. I do however like the slanted leg pockets they were easy to get into while sitting. The final test was when I took it out and paintballed with it with some of my buddies. Here are the shortcomings: The pattern does not work well in the woodland environment. I was easily spotted while the rest of my team remained concealed in the woodland pattern the velcro was very noisy the chest pockets did not hold anything very well they were too small it stained easily anything I carried in the sleeve pockets was crushed when I leaned against a tree to aim my weapon the colors in the pattern did not even come close to matching my surroundings without the black it has no depth to it. After our first match I asked the opposing team thier thoughts about how the ACU worked. The unanimous response was that I stuck out like a sore thumb When this pattern was developed I guess they forgot about how the woodland pattern was concieved, large paterns of natural colors in irregular shapes. In my oppinion putting our young men and women in this uniform is doing them a disservice. It may be more functional but it seriously lacks in camoflage ability unless you happen to be sitting behind a desk. I'll be in the woodland BDU until the last minute.
Matthew - September 9, 2005

ssg foote
Rating: 5.0 Stars
nice to wear
patty - September 6, 2005

camoflage? what camoflage?
Rating: 3.0 Stars
What was DA thinking about when they chose this camoflage? My unit just recently completed some common task training in a field environment and a few of our soldiers wore the new ACU, and I'm telling you guys if I were a sniper the soldiers wearing the ACU would most definetly be easier targets. This uniform does'nt blend in at all in a woodland environment and It does'nt even blend in that good in the desert. What if we had to go back into a jungle. What are we going to do? spend more money on new camo? The pockets are a good idea, but the velcro? too noisy.
anthony - September 1, 2005

ACU
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I think this is a great uniform shirt!
Alishia - September 1, 2005

Functionality
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I find the ACU very comfortable and very, very functional. I don't care what the other branches of the military think of the ACU appearance, but in my opinion, functionality is what makes the Soldier successful in the theater of operations. The old BDUs has got to go.
Marino - September 1, 2005

Another DOD failure!
Rating: 1.0 Stars
If you are deploying to Iraq DO NOT SPEND YOUR $ ON THIS! They might look good for the brass to pimp around in DC but the flat out are not functional in SWA. First off they last about half as long as a standard ripstop summer DCU. They stain like crazy. Windex and other cleaners will bleach them. They noisey velcro has compromised more than one of my guys OP's. The camo simply does not conceal as well as a DCU. It is so poor that we now have SOP's forbidding our sniper teams wearing it on missions. Save your money and possibly your life. Stick with the DCU in combat!
Dan

not the best USMC MARPAT IS the better
Rating: 1.0 Stars
well to begin with the ACU feels like pajamas. 2. the ACU ankle pocket is usless 3. the middle ranking patch is crap with a vest or flak jacket on 4. it tore way to easily 5. i have stains in it already that the MARPAT could easily get out int he first wash. 6. velcro is too noicy 7. had velcro coming off/patches coming off velcro 8.velcro is too long for the pockets. 9. i am very dissapointed in this ACU.
Roy

ACU vs. MARPAT
Rating: 1.5 Stars
I think that the ACU pattern is OK. It definitely doesn't have the environmental flexibility that the MCCUU's have. Here's what I think about the ACU's: 1) The velcro on the pockets is OK. In garrison I suppose it doesn't matter that it makes alot of noise when you open your pocket. In the field those pockets would be covered by your flak or LBV. 2) The velcro on the sleeve pockets is not a good idea and they should have learned from the Marine Uniform. 3) The nametapes should be sewn on because they could get snagged on your flak when you're putting it on and the nametapes could fall off. The nametapes should also follow the same pattern as the ACU like on the MCCUU's. The nametapes should also be flush with the pockets. The uniform seems pretty high speed. After some combat longevity maybe the Army will see it's flaws and fix it. Then again, I am partial to the Marine Corps. Semper Fi!

ACU Digital Pattern
Rating: 1.5 Stars
Ive tested this in the field and its only good at night? Marpat pattern or Cadpat is way better. The pockets are two loud and whats the point of wearing desert boots or tan in a Woodland enviroment. I feel sorry for those guys overseas wearing this.

ok
Rating: 2.0 Stars
The Army went ahead and took black out of the uniform which was a bad idea. Black is where the Human eye precieves depth, with out black this uniform will stick out more than disrupt the human silhouette. Plus from what I heard they need to reinforce the stich and go back to sewn on insignia because it rips off and catches dirt and stuff to easy. The multicam was a better choice in all ways except cost.

Its OK, but...
Rating: 2.5 Stars
The ACU is OK, but several issues come up, far as I'm concerned. Velcro on the slant chest pockets is fine. Easy to get in and out quickly (despite the noise). Velcro for the insignia is bad - make it sew-on; and put it back on the collar; not in the middle where it will be hidden while wearing gear. I keep hearing the positive remark that the ACU "feels like pajamas". Bad idea; the cloth needs to be stronger. The ankle pocket is useless. Overall: the Marines new uniform has the ACU beat. It is simple and rugged.

not too bad
Rating: 4.0 Stars
looks good until you stand next to an soldior wearing the issued uniform

really good
Rating: 5.0 Stars
not only does it blend in to the three invarments well its lihgt and durabel

this is great
Rating: 5.0 Stars
this is yhe baest camo you can get. I whent paint balling and i was about 10 feet frome my anemey and they could not see me.It was great. The velcrow is alitil anoying but quik and easy. This is good camo.

ACU Observations
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I am a retired USAR LTC who also had a long career in federal law enforcement. I currently work for a federally-contracted private corrections agency. I recently had occasion to visit the NTC at Ft. Irwin, CA. I happened to chat with a couple of soldiers who were wearing the ACU. They all appeared to like the uniform and said it was a very practical garment set from several standpoints. I was also impressed with the fabric content and the slant chest pockets, the latter vaguely reminiscent of the old 'Nam jungle fatigues in that the pockets were ergonomically arranged to better reach in and out to retrieve items. The sleeve pockets were also an interesting addition. Plus the mandarin collar appeared to be more practical in a field environment. Overall, the uniform is better tailored to accommodate LBE and personal protective gear. It is about time the government adopted a combat uniform with a much more realistic camouflage pattern and some usable features for a change. If I were still in the military, I would have purchased this uniform in a heartbeat.

Soldier Welfare
Rating: 5.0 Stars
The ACU is obviously the best uniform that we have had yet. I have spent over 20 years of my life in the Army and I have tried to find something about this uniform that I don't like... And I can not!! It is the most comfortable uniform that I have ever worn, and it is very low maintenance.

Excellent
Rating: 5.0 Stars
The uniform is light weight. The only problem is the fact that they do tear easier so be careful

Velcro?
Rating: 5.0 Stars
The ACU has definate advantages over the standard BDU's and DCU's. The only dis-advantage that I do hear about the uniform is that the velcro enclosures are too loud, and that all badges are pin-on, instead of the current sew-on, and that we willl continue to wear the black beret with the uniform even though black has been removed from the camoflauge pattern. Over all the ACU is a far better and much needed uniform.

digital soldier
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I think this new uniform is long over due; it is easy to maintain, no sewing is required, its light and there is no need for a second utility uniform for desert ops.