Fox Ripstop Poncho - FOX
Fox Ripstop Poncho
Average Rating: Average Rating: 3.5 Stars
Description

New Digital Woodland Camo ripstop ponchos are here. Built-in hood with drawstring, stuff bag with drawstring closure.
User Reviews
poncho
Rating: 2.5 Stars
Save your money, wore mine to a football game was completely soaked in 10 minutes.
Don - January 6, 2011

Leaks Like a Seive!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I had to pretend to rate this crappy item with a high rating because in my firat ad, when I had selected 0.5 stars, it didn't post. Anyway, the seams are not sealed. I went to school in a rainstorm using the poncho, thinking that my backpack would stay dry. Definitely not! It leaked like a seive! Not worth the postage to return, so I tossed the crappy thing and went to an army/navy store and got the real thing!
Fabian - March 4, 2009

Ripstop Poncho
Rating: 2.5 Stars
Not as good as what I was issued back in '87. Doesn't seem as large and is definitely not as thick. I bought two and when snapping them together then unsnapping them, one of the grommets popped off. In my opinion, see if you can find the original, bulletproof OD one. A bit heavier but I never got wet when my hooch was made with one.
Tyrone - October 16, 2008

Mixed Review (consider the price for it)
Rating: 2.5 Stars
I bought this poncho to help round out my kit for some summer training. I have several issues with this poncho. First, it is not as large as the issue poncho. Second, it does not have the same number of grommets as the issue poncho. It is missing grommets on centered on both ends of the long axis (the two most important grommets for shelter making, especially if you are using bungee cords). All of this means that it is practically useless for making a poncho shelter. I ended up buying an issue poncho for that use. That said, I did take this poncho out to the field with me. Since it is small, I packed it in my Camelbak MULE's top pouch. It fit in there just fine (especially since it came with the small stuff sack). I ended up using it quite a bit since during the typical afternoon thunder storms that New York has been experiencing this summer. For quick storms, this poncho worked just fine. I would simply recommend not snapping together the button nearest the arm on both sides so that you have enough room to get you arms through it. I found the head opening and hood to be large enough. This poncho did go through a significant 45 minute long down pour, and I must say that this poncho was not up to the task. It soaked through at about the 20 minute mark. It did keep shedding water for the most part, but water was soaking through. The waterproofing just is not as good as the issue poncho. This soaking through and its relative ineffectiveness as anything but an emergency shelter is why it gets only 2.5 stars.
Pete - August 17, 2008

Poncho
Rating: 3.5 Stars
I'm 6'1 and although the poncho's material performs well, I did find it a little on the small side. My lower arms got wet because there isn't enough material. I wondered if the poncho had been designed for gnomes, or small folk.
Ian - July 7, 2008

Okay
Rating: 3.5 Stars
I bought the digital woodland model several months ago. I haven't had a chance to test it out in the rain but it does not seem nearly as well built as the poncho I was issued when I was in the military ten years ago. It is much lighter and smaller (which is sort of a positive) but I question whether it will hold out the rain. As for the sizing, I am also average size and the neck was a little tight on me and it didn't cover my arms much...though for a combat poncho, that's a positive in my mind.
Christopher - May 6, 2008

ACUPAT is good signal panel
Rating: 5.0 Stars
The poncho is just fine and I like that it is light weight. If you use the ACUPAT poncho to set up a hooch, you'll never have a problem finding your patrol base. The pattern glows in the dark! You can see it from hundreds of meters away, even in thick vegetation. It's time to call bullshit on ACUPAT. The Emperor isn't wearing any clothes. Where is the research to show this pattern offers concealment in any terrain? The tan is just way too light. It might as well be white. The proponents of ACUPAT claimed that black isn't found in nature. Well ACUPAT is the most unnatural color I've ever seen and stands out in any environment. Brown is the most ubiquitous color on Earth, and it's conveniently missing from ACUPAT.
George - February 17, 2008

Good Quality
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Good quality basic poncho. Head and arm openings are fine with me and I'm on the large/tall size.
Greg - August 27, 2006

Well made, but head opening doesn't cut it
Rating: 3.0 Stars
I'm sending it back as the head opening is cut waaay too small and the openings for my arms barely cover down to my elbows. I'm an average sized guy, so somethings all wrong with this poncho.
Daniel - September 24, 2005

rain becomes fun
Rating: 5.0 Stars
i have used your woodlandcamouflaged, ripstop-poncho for many years in the field. in windy,rainy weather there`s no better protection!! It`s silent and keeps you dry. Best Regards E.Bilstad Capt.Norwegian Armed Forces