Commerical Meals Ready to Eat (MRE) - TRU-SPEC
Commerical Meals Ready to Eat (MRE)
Average Rating: Average Rating: 3 Stars
Description

Commercial MREs include twelve on-the-go meal entrées and side dishes.
User Reviews
MRE Quality Loss
Rating: 2.0 Stars
This generation of MRE's is a major downgrade from the last version. The heaters don't put out enough heat and breakup leaving your food packet covered with gritty heater material. I don't mind a little dirt in my food when I'm in the bush, but I don't want to eat the chemicals from the heaters. There were items in the old MRE's that I actually got excited about. I end up throwing out most of the secondary items in these. Don't know if I'll even use the rest of my MRE's. Whoever's brother-in-law got the contract for these has done our soldiers a dis-service.
Dave - October 13, 2013

As good as can be in the Civilian Market.
Rating: 5.0 Stars
These M.R.E's Are not the genuine article and are inferior. However they are the best M.R.E's aside from the military grade ones. They do not come with a heater as stated in the description. They come with decaffeinated coffee which defeats the purpose of coffee. The clear thin packaging will reflect sunlight and serve as a beacon when you are trying to eat your lunch. The entree and side are the same as military but the accessory packet is far from acceptable. The do not include a hot beverage bag because they have no heater so you will be enjoying your decaf coffee cold. The only plus side is that they include pepper in the kit.
Brennen - November 6, 2011

great for feild
Rating: 5.0 Stars
i take these as extra in the field when chow might not be on time it gets my troopers through the day
adam - February 15, 2009

Not bad!
Rating: 3.5 Stars
I bought a case of these MRE's and must say that the food was good. It taste good. It did me good while I was hunting, walking 10 miles over mountain's so I needed the energy the MRE's provided. They are stacked with energy. I did however have a problem out of the heater. The heater didn't work well at all. While on the mountains it was really cold and it took 30 minutes for it to begin to warm up. That was to long so we ate them cold, which wasn't bad, just wasn't what we wanted. Other from that everything was good. It would have been better if it came with a second entre like mashed potato's or something like that. If the MRE's had a good heater and a second entre it would be a 10.
Caleb - December 9, 2008

Good Civilian MRE
Rating: 3.5 Stars
These are not military issue MREs. However, they taste fine. There are 12 meals in each box and each MRE does not have as much food as the basic MREs that the military gives out. Also, the heater seems to be a little messy with the chemicals.
Dwight - October 1, 2008

retired federal Conservation Officer
Rating: 0.5 Stars
The MRE's being sold today are NASTY!Not much variety in menu and desserts are dispicable. You can't even make Ranger brownies out of the stuff. But the worst sharp stick in the eye part is that there is decaf coffee in them. What happened to the drink mix that you could use for rifle bore cleaner to. I want some MRE's that are better than you have for sale. Maybe you have to be politically correct with menu choices?
George - January 27, 2008

Excellent for all!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
A great supply for all from paintballers to Hikers,Pilots to College Students. lived on them while in E.S. training with the Civil Air Patrol and have used them for every situation that I needed to bring food into since.I would recomned them to everyone that has a situation that recquires alot of food with limited space.
Alan - June 21, 2007

Not bad.
Rating: 3.5 Stars
The selection of meals were descent, other than no drink mix or fruit dishes they were fairly good. Only bad side was The spoon can't take the weight of the food and will break off.
evan - March 13, 2007

Poison to Gold
Rating: 1.5 Stars
I remember the day back in '83 when we used up our last case of C rations and the First Sergeant opened up that new case of MRE's. It took a long time gettin used to them. They were down right nasty. Over the years the improvements gained the approval of even the most cynical of grunts. By the time I retired in 2002 they were down right tasty besides being functional. Now I miss them. What you are getting here is an impostor, nothing even close to the real thing. Write your Congressman or join the ranks, because thats the only way you'll have the pleasure.
Thomas - February 16, 2007

Military MREs
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I noticed on some of the reviews for the US Cav MREs that people wanted to get issued MREs. They are no longer legal to sell to the public. Other than the drink mix missing this product would substitute well. Just wish that US Cav would identify what the manufacture date was to give an idea how long they are good for.
William - July 23, 2006

looking for the best MRE's
Rating: 2.0 Stars
Yes the Canadian military brand is great most MRE’s are not filled with what you really need and lack in the qualities and other vital needs that the ex-military soldier out of serves search’s for in every pouch or case of what they call MRE’s yuk !!!. I hope the U.S. Cavalry Inc. will start Selling the military MRE's again like they once have done in the past I would hope to buy the same MRE's and as some ex-military men and women hope to as well. The U.S. military MRE's have the heater weather it is the dark or tan thick plastic package. The meal the soldier is eating has a much batter verity then what is sold on the market and you know what you are getting in each full Case of Mil Spec MRE’s. Please there is a great demand to sell them to your customer who had these before just buy a shipload then we will stock up buying the mil spec MRE’s from the US Cavalry. The average and seasoned US Soldier from all Military branches search for these yet can not find them we will not settle for second best thank you U.S. Cavalry Ret U.S. Army Robert McFadden
Robert - July 13, 2006

MREs
Rating: 3.0 Stars
It's not to bad for emergency, you can live on it. But if you look for the best, buy the canadian forces ration. But those US Cavalry are fair for the price, better than an other dealer, I tried.
DENYS - June 29, 2006

MREs
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I think the MREs are very handy. They are great for camping,hiking,etc. I would advise you to stay away from the cheese though:) Hope I Helped.
J.G. - November 29, 2005

MRE's
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Ordered and received a case of 12 meals. Contained 4 entrees 3 of each; Beef Stew, Beef Enchiladas, Minnestrone and Ravioli. I tried one of each. One bread packet was moldy upon opening. Only seams to have mashed potatoes as sides. No crackers, candy or drink mix beyond the instant coffee nor fruit. Not completely satisfied but they will serve their purpose as emergency rats.

Good deal
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I ordered a case of these from here, and another case from another large internet source. The case from U.S. Cavalry, though a little more money, was well worth it. The selection was good, and the even contain both the entree, and a side dish. The case from my other source, only contained an entree. The only thing missing was the drink mix they have advertised, but really not a big deal.If you need MRE's don't hesitate to order a case of these, they're just what you need.