Ontario Knife Company Military Issue Air Force Survival Knife w/Sheath - Ontario Knife Company
Ontario Knife Company Military Issue Air Force Survival Knife w/Sheath
Average Rating: Average Rating: 4.5 Stars
Description

1095 carbon blade with black phosphate coating.
User Reviews
Ontario USAF Pilot's SK
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This is the same knife that was my work-horse for over 20 months in Viet~Nam. It is so well thought of by me...that I have bought 15 for members of my family. As someone commented the price here at US Cavalery, is the lowest on the inter net... BUY IT ! I have actual staked my life on it(in Combat), ...and I am still here.
CARL - June 9, 2012

Great Knife, great price
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This is a great hardworking and sturdy knife. It wont win any beauty prizes but that is not what this knife is about. Its just a good strong and hardworking survival tool. It also comes with a nice metal and leather sheath. I used pastewax on both the leather grip and shealth and both buffed up nicely. ALSO US Cav has absolutly the best price around for this knife. I have seen them on-line for almost twice as much. The same goes for the K-bars. Other companies are selling the K-Bars in the $70 range and this knife in the 50 dollar or 60 dollar range. Buy from US Cav. Also this knife is made right here in the USA, cant beat that. God Bless our troops. Jon, Wildland Firefighter Type Two Hand Crew Hotshot National
John - December 15, 2011

Great knife as long as the user understands it's limits
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I own a 1976 version of this same knife and it looks identical to the current model. I bought mine used a couple of years ago. I use it fairly often while working on my property. It holds an edge, has a good grip and is an all around good basic duty knife. I don't consider it a true survival knife because it's too thin for heavy splitting and the tip is too narrow for prying, both of which are important in a survival situation. With that said, for its size, it is still a great tool. I don't think you can find a better work knife for $35.
William - December 4, 2011

Not Fancy, Very Functional
Rating: 4.5 Stars
The first time I looked for a survival knife, I went for this one, It has become my blueprint, for other survival knives. Full of tools. Sawback, spear holes in hilt, Good size, balance, and weight. Steel butt for hammering. Small drawbacks blade is the leather wafer handle which is shock absorbing when chopping and comfortable to hold, that's a plus and minus because it will degrade if subjected to water for any length of time. I use a leather treatment to repel water, which kind is a whole other article. The sheath is also leather very basic. More than worth the money. Caveat, there are similar knives made with Kraton Handles I would choose the leather over that every time. The clip point on this knife has been known to break when put to HEAVY prying. I put that more to the user than the knife. My opinion, and I could be wrong.
Meghan - November 5, 2011

I Miss This Knife
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Many years ago when I was in the Air Force Security Police this survival knife was a coveted item and very difficult to scrounge. After all we were not pilots. Every time I’d get my hands on one, it would get “borrowed.” So today, I have to buy one because all the free ones walked away. It is worth it though as more than a reminder of better days. It is a very handy knife and a tool to have for outdoors. I plan to buy several to stash on the tractor, car, and camping gear.
Jay - June 22, 2011

U.S. Made........ USAF survival knife
Rating: 4.5 Stars
1. USA made by a quality company that has made tons of knives for thousands of combat troops. 2. Economy priced yet built strong and will sharpen and hold a decent edge. 3. Functional and useful for a number of outdoor adventure seekers. 4. It's a tool not a BMW automobile. It works and for the cost you spend you will still have cash to fill the gas tank to get to your adventure. 5. If you find a way to break, wreck or otherwise destroy or loose it... Well, your only out 35.00 bucks..... Last time I checked no other American company produces this much quality for this low price. To be fair and honest, I grade it a (B) on the scale that A is for awesome and E is for fails the common joe scale. I gave my issued knife to my new Eagle Scout and told him it was with me through Iraq, Italy and Kyrgyzstan....... I think he treasures it as much as I did. Gotta get a new one for me now.... Final word........... Get one, the knife delivers more than the price you pay for it.... Real good deal.
TSgt - June 15, 2011

Survival Knife.
Rating: 5.0 Stars
10 yr Marine, Carried many fighting, survival knives. Most military knives are replaceable type knives. A good survival knife does not have a speer, clip point type blade, (breakage). Blade should be .25 thick, partially serrated. This knife from 1-10 rating for survival knife, (6). The sharpening stone is not quality, must be replaced. Knife not heavy enough for chopping. Leather handle not good option, draws moister, gets wet, damp, in turn causes rust. Handle should be made water proof, but then the leather can't breath. This knife is limited in useage.
William - April 15, 2011

An excellent knife
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Some have made negative comments here about the scabbard. What they don't know is that the steel plate is designed for safety of an air force pilot/aircrew during a crash landing as the blade will not punch through the scabbard and stab the wearer.
George - December 27, 2010

air force kinfe :)
Rating: 5.0 Stars
my granpa used it in the air force and i use it for camping we used it for 37 years it works like new but the but the grips are falling apart but still a good kinfe
mikey - July 26, 2010

:-)
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Overrall a nice knife handles well keeps an edge well and is the perfect size but the sheath does not match the knife looks ready for nething but the sheath has a lot to be desired
matteo - May 16, 2010

Great knife, could use a better sheath
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Bought this to carry while doing field work. Pleased with the quality and construction of the knife, leather handle, and solid buttcap. The sheath needs improvement and will probably replace it. It is bulky for one - you have to thread your belt through it so the knife rubs against your belt every time you remove or replace it - it has a cheap tin plate riveted to the bottom and back which was dented upon receipt and does not serve a purpose - also needs to be longer. Does come with a sharpening stone - the compartment is good for carrying survival gear. I bought 2 of these and at $35 each they were a steal!
James - April 3, 2010

Good knife
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I have owned this knife in the past and I enjoyed it. A good basic, sound knife. I like the sheath, its sturdy..leather and metal. The knife itself is meant for hard work in a survival situation..its not pretty or a toy. I have sharpened mine, easy enough and I polish the leather grip with paste wax and brush it with a shoe brush. Do that once or twice and it comes out smooth and with a satin sheen. I do the same with the sheath. You can take it in the wild and cut with it, saw, pound, dig..whatever and it wont break..keep one in your truck, pack or on your hip. Its a good thing. Jon, wildland firefighter
John - December 31, 2009

Thats whatt it is
Rating: 5.0 Stars
It's an Air Force surval knife, It's not pretty, it's not supposed to be. I had one issued to me when I was in the Air Force and still have it, thats over 30 years ago, if you know how to used it it will get you throught tough times out in the boonies. Yeah I could buys one of the pretty knives but I will stick with what works
Alfred - January 20, 2009

Best utility knife ever
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This is not a rambo knife for you to impress your girlfriend with. This is a knife that you can beat the crap out of, chop tree limbs with, dig with, cut 550 cord and 100 mph tape with, and pound tent stakes in with. The leather haft becomes hard and smooth with use. Blade keeps an edge well enough to do the job, and sharpens again easily. Take leather dye and blacken the haft and the sheath and you are good to go.
kaltrop - December 16, 2008

Good Knife
Rating: 4.5 Stars
As with some of the other reviewers, I was a little disappointed with the edge. Though, with about an hour in front of the television and a couple different stones, it was nearly sharp enough to shave with. The sheath leaves something to be desired....But the knife, overall is an excellent one, has nice weight and comfortable handle.
Daniel - November 17, 2008

One Good Knife
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I was issued one of these knives when I was in Vietnam 67-68 with recon. It was a good knife once it was sharpened good and broke in. I don't have my orginal issue, but I bought a new one and they are the same quality as they were 40 years ago. I wouldn't go in the woods without it. JD Snow
Jimmy - September 21, 2008

Great Utility Knife
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I've carried on of these knifes since i was 12 or so, and I just bought a new one to replace the one my dad gave me 14 years ago!!!! This knife isn't pretty, but it holds a good cutting edge (not good enough for shaving!). A Great knife all around.
Seth - October 3, 2007

Very good knife
Rating: 5.0 Stars
perfect sized utility knife. Nice grip leather handle. Blade steel sharpens easy and holds a good edge. Back of blade incorporates a bone saw - great for disposal of those unwanted intruders! Tough knife, tough leather sheath w/sharpening stone. I like it!
mark - December 15, 2006

Last knife you need to buy
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This knife does exactly what it was designed to do. Perfect for survival situations, you can dig with it one moment and chop wood with it the next. The blade isn't razor sharp because it is a utility knife. The leather handle is rough, and makes for a good solid grip. If you want a smooth handle, just use it enough and it will be nice and shiny for ya.
joseph - May 3, 2006

worst knife ever
Rating: 1.0 Stars
this is the first and last knife i bought from ontario. the only way to descripe the edge is go outside pick up a rock and the rock will have a better edge. i couldn't even cut a piece of paper with it. i pray to god that this is not actualy used by the air force because if they handed it to me i would fall on the ground laughing thinking it was a joke. i'm gonna try and sharpen the edge with my kinfe sharpener but will probably just send it back do not buy this knife. also the handle is not like the picture it is just ragedy leather
michael - March 29, 2006

Great Knife
Rating: 4.0 Stars
Definently a great knife. Last knife I have ever bought. Great for anything. Takes a beating and gets the job done. Good quality, affordable knife.
MYERS - January 9, 2006

Jumpmaster Knife
Rating: 3.5 Stars
This is the standard Jumpmaster knife which any paratrooper would be familiar with. It's not pretty but it keeps a good sharp edge.
Robert - September 9, 2005

Ontario Survival not up to standards.
Rating: 2.0 Stars
1. Very sloppy grinds, poor edge. 2. Very rough and "shaggy" leather handle. 3. Snap on sharpening stone pocket defective. I have used my Camillus Survival for thirty years and it still looks better than the Ontarios I just got. Since I own several Ontario knives, I know that they can do much better. I would have gladly paid a liitle more to get a new Camillus version. Tell the "contractor" to tighten up. Our airmen and soldiers deserve better.

Best Survival Knife
Rating: 5.0 Stars
As a former marine and a wilderness travaler I have been using this kife since the early 1980's with no mishaps. Nothing fancy but very durable. I have used the knife from the jungles of panama to the Alaska wilderness.