Squad Leader Watch - TRU-SPEC
Squad Leader Watch
Average Rating: Average Rating: 4 Stars
Description

Non-reflective stainless steel casing and French quartz movement. Water-resistant.
User Reviews
Good Purchase
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I purchased this Squad Leader Watch after looking for something to replace my Timex camping watch that died on me last year. So I wanted something reliable and I've always liked the Military look of the watches issued by our gov to the military. After doing some research I noticed that the real gov spec watches were up in the $150 range and out of my price range. I looked at amazon but I was not happy about some of the reviews that people were giving the watches. Luckily I remembered my dad having a catalog from US CAV and so I went online. Found this watch and really liked the look and the reviews were great. So I purchased it and haven't looked back. Like everyone says the band is the only weak link on the watch and after just one week the band is starting to fray on the sides and where the holes are at. But I already knew this was going to be a problem and already ordered a replacement band. I'm very happy with my purchase and I would highly recommend this watch to anybody looking for a great looking watch that will last a long time. The only complaint I have is that my watch did not come with any Instruction manuals! But thanks to another reviewer I set the date before the 9pm warning. It also took about 2 days for my watch to actually ship. Not a big problem but I was excited to have my watch shipped a little sooner. If your thinking about getting it..Don't think twice.
David - April 19, 2012

Unpretentious Simple Watch
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Simple, no-nonsense, unpretentious, easy to read, comfortable, accurate (and for the fashion conscious OD goes with everything). At the price point I can afford to buy a new one every year or two and toss the old one when it stops running. I do recommend purchasing an extra band because it tends to fray over the long haul. Other than that this tough little soldier rates a five plus in my book.
David - March 20, 2012

Great for the price
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I have owned this watch for some time now without any problems. I don't care for the band , but its fine for now. When it breaks or wears out, I will just put a diffrent type on.
Daniel - March 18, 2012

none
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I LOVE this watch!!!!!! I tend to wear down the band. Got to buy new bands. LOVE the watch!!!!!!!!!!
Shelby - October 27, 2011

I love this watch.
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I've worn this watch for close to 10 years now & my only complaint is that I have a hard time finding replacement bands. I work in construction, mostly welding & this watch has taken much abuse. I should note that my watch came with a metal buckle. Reading the other reviews it seems they now come with plastic buckles. Definitely one of the best watches I've owned.
Bryan - September 11, 2011

Decent with minor flaws...
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I completely loved this watch while it lasted, which is why I am going to buy a new one as soon as I can. I ordered this watch on June the 16th and got it in the mail between the 18th and 20th with the basic FedEx shipping along with another product which was extremely fast in my opinion. I was quick to find a small but almost insignificant flaw which was the wristband. It was made of a rather weak material which resulted in the end of the wristband fraying and the holes enlarging after only three uses. The strap also has a clip that appears to be made out of some durable plastics but has a disturbingly flimsy feel to it. Despite all of this, I wore it for a month and included it in my kit when I went to the 2010 National Scout Jamboree at Fort A.P. Hill, VA. The watch did exactly what it was supposed to for all ten days without a problem which is a miracle when we had to set up camp, do multiple activities and everyday tasks, and finally taking down camp. However, the watch's undoing was when the week after the jamboree, as a student/ cadet in JROTC, I took the watch off in a hurry before PT and accidentally dropped the watch on its crown (knob) from about five feet. When I put it back on at the end of day at about 12 o'clock and it read as it being 9 AM. After winding it to the correct time, and returning to it at about 5 PM, it read about 1:12. I had a feeling that it may have been the heat from where it recently was over the month which could have sapped the battery or that it could have been one strike on just the right spot which was odd as I had dropped it several times at the Jamboree. After taking it to a watch repair shop at the local mall, the horologist stated that it would be more expensive to repair than to buy another one. I will definitely buy a new watch from U.S. Cavalry due to their excellent service. This watch can stand a beating, but not necessarily on a concrete floor. A more durable wristband would definitely benefit this watch too. I would definitely recommend this good-looking watch as it works as advertised and it is listed at a reasonable price for about thirty-two dollars where as similar products at clothing stores can be at least thirty-eight to forty dollars. I would recommend this watch to almost anyone, whether they have a desk job, work in some field that requires manual labor, or are in the military or in a police force.
Robert - September 6, 2010

On time
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Update: I would highly recommend that you do not set the date on this watch any time after noon. The instruction manual says that setting the date between 9pm and 4am will result in damage to the watch. I set the date at 8:15pm once and it was never the same. Within a week the date had sunk very low in the window, and the next month when I tried to reset the date it wouldn't move at all (it is now stuck on the 27th). I'm really sorry about this, as the watch was performing beautifully before I set the date at 8:15pm that one time. I think if I had been a couple of hour earlier in setting the date, this would not have happened. At any rate, DO NOT set the date late in the day, as damage WILL result. The instructions say 9pm to 4am, but I would give it much more leeway than that.
Thomas - August 2, 2010

AWESOME little watch
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I bought this watch for my boyfriend. It is beautiful! We were both pleasantly surprised when he opened the box. It is not a large watch like everyone is wearing now, but that is what we both LIKE about it. It is so striking to look at. The band is really cool and the face is gorgeous. I would be another for a friend or family member and may even get one for myself! As we just got the watch this morning I cannot comment on how it keeps time yet.
Lana - June 17, 2010

on time
Rating: 3.5 Stars
The second hand on this watch bounces around at times and it may not inspire confidence when you first take possession of it. Nevertheless it is remarkably accurate for a thirty dollar watch. Thumbs up!
Thomas - May 29, 2010

Nice looking, functional watch.
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I just received the watch yesterday. I think it's a good watch. There are certainly better ones out there, but this one looks great. I personally love the black face (which makes it easier to read) The glow-in-the-dark hands are also quite handy. The movement of the second hand seems a bit off, almost like it only moves 59 times per second, but it still keeps the correct time. I'll update later to see if this has changed. The band that the watch comes with is pretty lousy. I recommend getting a NATO strap. Personally, I picked up some from J. Crew. I know I'm not supposed to post URLS but I think my pictures really showcase the good quality of the watch. So take a moment and view my pictures to see a higher res image of the watch. Also, it is not mentioned here but the size of the wrist band needed for this watch is about 19mm. Overall, I'd recommend the watch. (Pictured with J. Crew wrist strap) http://i45.tinypic.com/e15080.jpg http://i49.tinypic.com/r8cu4m.jpg
Matthew - May 27, 2010

Great 'little' watch.
Rating: 4.0 Stars
This is my favorite watch for the price, I wear it regularly when fishing or working in the yard, however at 33 mm it is quite small in todays 'larger' watch culture. Don't be suprised by it's boyish size.
John - April 6, 2010

Great Watch for a small amount of money
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I wanted a watch that was close to they miltary issued timepieces. This watch fits the bill. It is comfortable on the wrist and tells perfect time. The date feature is nice, since it isnot always found on miltary style field watches. The numbers are easy read and the case is solid steel. The watch is also 50 meters water resistant. I wouldn't swim in a watch rated at 50 meters, but it is good in a heavy rain. I like that fact that the watch is sized more like a traditional military watch. Some of the new field watches are larger. Overall a good watch for a great price. I may pick up another one for a spare in the future. Darrin
Darrin - November 30, 2009

simplicity and function
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I am throughly pleased with the simplicity and functionality of this watch. I have not had any difficulty with it in the short time that I have owned it. I recommend it for anyone.
peter - November 20, 2009

Exellent durability
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I bought the Squad Leader Watch a few years ago, the battery should have gone dead long ago... However, it continues to run and keeps perfect time. I am very rough on watches and this one certainly can take a beating.
Mark - December 14, 2008

Beat up
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I've worn this watch daily for the last year. I do environmental testing at gas stations (caustic environment for watches). Cracked the corner of the lens on a 2'pipe wrench (my fault) - but watch still ticks on. Other than the occasional adjustment to date (not all months have 31 days), I've not had to change the time. The band is nylon & cleans up nice with hand soap, fingernail brush, & air dry (has maintained it's color as when new). Excellent watch, excellent quality (I beat the heck out of it). Other bad reviews must have been of unlucky few. Ordering a second to store away in my gunsafe - so I will have one 20yrs from now when I retire... :)
Dan - March 21, 2008

trimble
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Best value in a watch that I've ever owned. Reliable, low profile, and has a clean, functional style.
Mark - February 8, 2008

Tough little watch
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I've had this watch now for close to ten years and it just won't quit. It keeps very good time, it sat in a drawer once for about 6 months and when I pulled it out and checked the time it was only about two minutes off. I used to work in a warehouse and out in the field in all kinds of weather conditions and this watch has taken some serious abuse, but that's why I bought it, I didn't want to wear my good watch to work in. I have had to take it apart a few times to dry it out when the crystal formed condensation inside from sweat and water that seeped in, but that's easy to do and it hasn't been adversely affected.
Randall - July 1, 2007

Broken Watch
Rating: 2.5 Stars
First mission out side the wire the pin holding the band to the watch broke off and was not able to be repaired. Overall I liked the watch just not vey durable.
William - June 20, 2007

Surprisingly strong
Rating: 4.5 Stars
At first I had my doubts about this little guy but it's definitely proven its worth. I was always hesitant to wear my normal (much nice) watch when I worked out or even mowed the lawn. Though it isn't of the highest quality this thing definitely takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.
Patrick - June 7, 2007

Not so good
Rating: 1.5 Stars
I had the watch for three months. Then IT happened, the second hand fell off and the crystal chipped. I then quickly threw it away due to the fact that the second hand that fell off got wedged between the other hands. Other than that I liked the watch. Maybe Ill just stick the $10 specials.
bryan - April 4, 2007

One great watch
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I've been wearing mine for about 6 years. Keeps great time. It's simple, tough and it works! What's more, it you break it (no idea how you could), it's dirt cheap to replace. You've got a watch for life here troops.
Paul - March 26, 2007

Very nice
Rating: 5.0 Stars
A solid built watch. I'd pay 50 dollars for a watch of this quality so it's an excellent deal at less than 30. Good buy and excellent watch.
Christopher - March 9, 2007

Jake
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Smokin price for a good watch. Can't beat it! Very light and easy to read. I didn't care for the O.D. green band so I changed to a swiss army band.
Eric - March 3, 2007

Great Watch!---Tough Ticker For Your $$$
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I just ordered my second Squad Leader Watch. The first one (still works) and I had it for about 5yrs. I only ordered a second 'cause I figured the battery would be going soon and the strap was kinda dirty. For the price, you can't go wrong. It's light, accurate, durable, water resistant, and easy to read at a glance.
Eric - January 16, 2007

Great everyday watch.
Rating: 4.0 Stars
This is a great watch, very accurate, and easy to read makes it my favourite everyday watch. But the glass lens is just that, GLASS. I knock it against a hanging extension cord, not hard but hard enough to shatter the lens glass all over the floor, quite disappointing since cheaper watch use a plastic lens that can take alot more abuse. But I'd definetly buy another one.
Roger - April 5, 2006

One tough watch!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I work in a busy Emergency Room and this watch has been great! I have banged it into door frames, washed it repeatedly, dropped it, you name it! The band is almost as stiff as when I got it almost 2 years ago! As soon as this one goes I'll be ordering another! Thanks for a great product!
Gary - January 23, 2006

Good Watch
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I've looked for a good watch to use while camping, without a lot of extra electronic doodads. This was works wonderfully. On mine, the hands line up well and the date works nicely. Also, the band is nice and durable.
Daniel - December 12, 2005

As good as the price...but
Rating: 3.5 Stars
It is true the watch keeps good time but it does not handle impact very well. The second hand poped off when I hit it aganst the ground and the rods that hold it to the band break or pop off real easy. The numbers glow bright for only about 20 mins after strong exposure to light then nothing. Still for the money its good if you are in a job where the loss of a more expensive watch would be too much to bare. I am using mine at the time of this review.
Blake - December 4, 2005

Pritty Good for the price.
Rating: 4.0 Stars
For the price I was very sceptical. But I was proven wrong. The Watch Is very light and very comfortable to wear. It keeps great time ( has not go +/- 1 sec in a week since I started keeping track)and the elumination on the hands and the triangles above the numbers are bright enough to see. The Only problems are the Date number is off-set down a little bit, and the second hand is off-set alittle off of the second ticks. But for the price its a pritty good watch. PS the band dries very quickly.