New Balance 8 In. DesertLite Boot - New Balance
New Balance 8 In. DesertLite Boot
Average Rating: Average Rating: 4 Stars
Description

The lightest Desert boot on the market today.
User Reviews
To the 'Stan and Back
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I bought these boots before my last deployment and my feet have never been happier! After putting in my own gel inserts the level of comfort I achieved was beyond compare. My only issue with these boots is that they wore down too quickly. The mesh eyelets tore out, the toe cap separated from the front, and the laces broke (which I replaced with longer ones) as well but they didn't get any worse after that. I wore these boots through a year plus of foot patrols, convoys, and general grunt work without an issue. It was only earlier this month I finally had to retire them when I realized I had walked off all the tredding and the boot was literally falling apart on me. When I have the funds I will be buying another pair, of that I am sure!
Zachary - October 8, 2012

OK Boot
Rating: 3.0 Stars
If you don't ruck or run in boots I would recommend these. However, I purchased a pair and took them to SFAS. They did great the first ruck but busted the inseam on both boots the very next day. I sent these boots back for a new pair and I've been waiting for almost 2 months and have now decided to go with a different brand due to manufacturer delays.
Chris - August 28, 2012

They fall apart way too fast!
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Great boot, don't get me wrong. Within a month and a half they were all torn up. The bottom started to come apart from the boot and the lining at the toe starts to come off. Great boot for garrison but not for deployments.
Jonathan - August 17, 2012

Honest Review (CONT.)
Rating: 5.0 Stars
The previous review was from me about two weeks back. Over the last two weeks, I've been training in 100+ degree weather with full battle-rattle for several hours and switching my boots out amongst a pair of Blackhawks and the OTBs. While the Blackhawks were more comfortable at first(because I've had them for nearly a year), the OTBs performed excellently and exactly as described. They weigh nearly nothing, and are very dry. Understand- I sweat ALOT, especially in HEATCAT-5. While my uniform has been consistently soaked through from top to bottom, the boots were consistently dry and rarely gave me problems. The only problem I've had thus far is the laces. I'm used to cranking down on my boots to get them tight enough for me because I don't like them to slide around my foot and cause hot spots or blisters. I don't have that problem with the OTB- I learned that if you loosen the laces to get your foot in them and tighten them just barely enough to hold, then they won't pull down on your foot and squeeze. If you crank them down, they bite into the top of the foot. Also, they were the right size but slightly too large- i had too much wiggle room if such a thing is possible. I put a PX brand foam insert under the factory footbed insert and now they fit like they were built for me. These boots will probably become my standard boot from now on.
Torrence - July 4, 2012

Day 1, great so far
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I just got these boots in and have been wearing them for a few hours. So far I love them. They're a little tight in the ankles and around the balls of the feet, and a little bit stiff when you first put them on. They're looseneing up quickly though, and I expect they'll be outstanding boots. The only reason they're only getting 4.5 is that I haven't had them long enough to be an honest review of 5.0.
Torrence - June 23, 2012

Sgt
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I purchased this boot about 7 months ago for deployment to Herat Afghanistan and what a smooth move on my part. This boot is the one HMFIC of boots, the mother of all boots light weight,tennis shoe feel and ready to wear right out of the friggin box. Dude,I can wear them without socks the boots rock!
Mikatta - May 10, 2012

Click add to cart....
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I bought my first pair of OTB's based on my husbands recommendation. After owning my first pair, I've never looked back. I've taken these boots to AF, Sere school and a selection course. Never had a blister and only after walking through a tropical rain storm did I start to get a hot spot that soon resolved itself. I can run in them with no issues. I can ruck for days in them while everyone else is limping from blisters and missing heels. You can take them out of the box and go. No breaking in required. Highly recommended based on my own successful experience, these boots will not let you down.
Haley - October 16, 2011

Comfortable, but not durable
Rating: 3.5 Stars
By far the most comfortable boot I have ever worn. They feel better than most tennis shoes, but after a month of field training they start to fall apart. This happens mostly at the seams where the sole meets the tow of the boot, around the edges, and at the heel. The tread on the bottom also wears down quickly,which is rediculous for having them just a month. With some improvments these would be the best boots on the market. They never needed any breaking in, nor did I ever get anything close to a hot spot.
Alex - December 13, 2010

Purely Amazing
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I got these boots in about 2 weeks ago. Completed my first short 4 mile road march with the intention to start breaking in these bad boys for a 12 mile I have coming up. Zero hot spots, zero blisters and zero pinching. These boots have great air flow and dry out very fast. The soles feel very durable and have great traction in the field. These boots are also great to run in (very light). Very comfortable in garrison as well. The price and quality combination is simply amazing. I highly recommend these boots to anyone looking for an inexpensive, light weight, high speed and durable pair of kicks.
Wesley - September 13, 2010

Freaking Awesome!!!!!!!!!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I'm an 11B and I have had these boots for about 9 months so far. They are by far, the greatest, most lightweight, pair of boots I have ever owned. I have done several ruck marches with these boots and have worn them to the field countless times. I am about to buy a second pair of these and make my old ones my permanent field boot. They are so lightweight and comfortable. Easy to clean, just throw them in the washing machine. The only downside, I wish they were available to buy in more places.
Clint - August 1, 2010

Listen Up
Rating: 5.0 Stars
BLUF! This boot is awesome.. Its the lightest I've ever seen and they provide a ton of support where you need it. Plenty of ventilation going on inside the boot also. The only thing you need to be aware of is the sizing is off by half a size. I normally were a 11 to 11.5 depending on make. I originally ordered a 11.5 and my toes were touching the end of the boots. Exchanged them for a 12 and have been steppin it out since. I have had more expensive boots in the past but none of them come close to this one. When it comes to Comfort, Weight, Support, Traction, Style, this boots are some Bad Mike Foxtrots
Ricky - May 20, 2010

WOW
Rating: 5.0 Stars
i think they should issue these boots to everyone in the military. best boot i have ever worn, doesnt even feel like i have anything on they are so light. if your looking for a good boot spend the money and buy these.
william - April 9, 2010

Fresh out of the box, Great boot.
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Well I just got them today and right out of the box they're super comfortable and lighter than my running shoes. The sole is a softer rubber than other boots I've owned, so I don't know how long it will last with normal 11B wear and tear. They breath very well. As soon as I put them on I could feel air flow. Design is nothing flashy like some of these other next gen boots I've seen. I'm going with a 5.0 rating for now. I haven't seen any long term reviews on these boots, so I'll try and leave another review in a month after a couple of road marches and field time.
John - March 10, 2010

This boot wins... hands down!
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I've had this boot for a few weeks now, bought it for an upcoming deployment to A-Stan. At first glance and feel even the material looks like some sort of fake, low quality, B.S., however this is not so. This is a rock solid boot and I have no problem with it. Heck, I didn't even have to break these bad boys! I just took out the little insole they come with, put my old ones in and was ready to rock! Hammer out, 13Fox all the way!
Zachary - February 11, 2010

Desertlite in Iraq
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I purchased the desertlite a month before I left for Iraq. These boots are awesome! Extrememley light as OTB says. Very good boots for any mission. Great ankle support all around good boot. Only issue is that the toe of the boot where it is glued is coming off. If OTB would have stitched closer to the top of the top would have prevented this. Already ordered a second pair. 11 Bang Bang
Daneil - February 10, 2010

OTB 8 INCH DesertLite Boots
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I purchased these boots last month from the U.S. Cavalry store outside of Fort Campbell. These boots are extremely light, and comfortable. I have tried several different boots over the years. These boots are among some of the best for dismounted combat operations, and ruck marches. A must for the infantryman, or cav scout!
Brandon - October 12, 2009