Tru-Spec Tactical Response Uniform (TRU) Combat Shirt - TRU-SPEC
Tru-Spec Tactical Response Uniform (TRU) Combat Shirt
Average Rating: Average Rating: 3.5 Stars
Description

The Tru-Spec Combat Shirt combines a no melt, no drip, Cordura Baselayer with uniforms sleeves that is protective, moisture-wicking and comfortable under body armor.
User Reviews
Great product
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Former military, bought and use these shirts to hunt, hike and camp. Very comfortable and very durable, very happy with the product. Will be buying more in the near future.
Curt - March 14, 2013

Government Contractor
Rating: 5.0 Stars
An excellent shirt, practical and tough. I bought 5 of the TRU shirts before my latest deployment overseas based on my excellent experience with Tru-Specs Tac-Light pants and they didn't disappoint. I did not have any unusual wear and the color stayed bright even after many washings and untold hours in the sun. The stitching never pulled out and the fabric never frayed even at the stress points. The only complaint I have is with the collar, it seemed to pull down easily leaving my vest to chew up my skin, I would make it taller and stiffer. I have had shirts that I paid twice as much for fall apart with less wear than I put these shirts through. All in all, I feel that I got a good value and I won't hesitate to buy more if they ever do wear out.
Scott - November 13, 2011

11B 101st Airborne.
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I have owned three of these shirts for about a year and they are all in great shape, only bad thing is the collar. It does not sit tight around the neck, if you put anything heavier then a back of smoke in the arm pouches the collar will sag down. Great product overall and it's cheap. Thank you U.S. Cav
Aleksandr - June 29, 2011

Suggestion
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I am in the USAF Special Ops and I love this shit. None of the cammo on the sleeves are the AF's Standard Cammo. If this company could make ABU Combat Shit I would definitely buy this product and so would many more Airman. It's a great shirt and I really want one.
Trevor - February 2, 2011

Decent article - some changes needed
Rating: 3.5 Stars
My Background: I am a tactics and marksmanship instructor in the civilian world. I get to run my gear stupidly hard and if it's going to fail it will. Pro's: +Cheap +Made well +Nothing has broken yet Con's: -Poor color choice for shirt top. Works good for desert training areas, sucks in the mountains or anything green. -T-shirt collar is greatest weakness. Mandarin collar would have resulted in this garment being full of win - instead it gets full of fail designation. --The t-shirt collar doesn't protect well enough against the sun on the back of your neck or your body armor chafing, especially when sitting. --The sleeves feel floppy and poorly attached to the garment because there isn't any support for their position on your body other than the stretchy t-shirt material.
Sam - January 7, 2011

Great Quality!! Great Price!!!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I give the TRU-SPEC Combat Shirt a 5 star rating. I ordered the ACUPAT first. After opening immdieatly as I was impressed. I have been in the field 5 times with the same shirt (washed of course). It has not frayed, it has not worn in any of the areas of other more expensive Combat shirts. I know own 6 total 3 ACU, 3 Multi-Cam. I would suggest this shirt for anyone wanting good versatility, with great pricing. I own three Massif Combat shirts..They are good don't get me wrong..and FR is a plus..But, they are tight fitting and tend to bind. The TRU SPEC Combat shirts in hands down the best on the market for quality and pricing. SPEC. B. Williams
Brandon - August 15, 2010

Tru-Spec Falls Short of Mil-Spec Standards on Combat Shrit.
Rating: 1.5 Stars
These shirts are really comfortable, but that's where my praise ends. I have five of these shirts, of which five are falling apart. Despite being very careful about the way I wash all my gear, body of every single one of them is balling up and the material is being chewed through in a hurry from simply washing and drying. In addition, I have only worn kit over three of the shirts, those three are in the worst shape with holes where my cummerbund comes across the abdomen. The two other shirts have never been worn with kit in light training and they are coming apart too. Two of the five shirts are literally falling apart at the seems also, as the stitching is falling out. The worst part of the hole thing is I have contacted Tru-Spec via email twice now. I was very polite and even explained I don't care to get a refund, I don't want any replacements, I would just like an explanation and for them to correct the issues. THEY NEVER RESPONDED! That's right, they won't even respond. Bottom line, you get what you pay for, and if you are in a combative MOS or career wearing kit all day everyday this shirt won't last five uses. Don't spend $70 on this shirt when you can by a real Crye Precision shirt that won't fall apart. I know $145 for a shirt is expensive, but you are getting a product that will not fall apart using it as intended. If it does, you can rest assured they will stand behind it and they will replace it for free.
christopher - June 18, 2010

Very nice!
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I am a SWAT Medic and the Black/Black combat shirt works well and is durable. Great under my vest as designed. Been wearing it over a year and the shirt is still in one piece and holds the color well Comforatble and cool. Very happy with the shirt. I feel that it is worth it.
NICHOLAS - June 3, 2010

Overall a pretty good product.
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I bought this shirt for just what it was made for, and it hasn't let me down so far. It works well with body armor, but hot is hot and with body armor on this shirt only provides a minimal decrease in body temperature. The real benefit comes in its comfort. It is considerably more comfortable than wearing a button down shirt with pockets on the chest, and you get to keep a considerable amount of pocket space by moving them to the sleeves. I read previous reviews and I can say that they have compensated for sleeve length, there is plenty of Velcro on the cuffs to secure the wrists, and they added some cord to the zippers on the pockets to make them more glove friendly. The sleeves of the TRU shirt are Ripstop, unlike the ACS that has a 4-way stretch material, so they are more like the traditional ACU, for me this isn't an issue, but it isn't mentioned in the item description The generous sleeve length is makes things a little more difficult for those of us with larger bodies without having the height to compensate for it. The pockets bunch up a bit when you try to zip them up, but this is at the most a minimal inconvenience. With a little play you can open and close the pocket one-handed without a problem. I would have liked to see the pockets on the forearm llike the Massif shirts, but I can't think of a single time in the sandbox I needed a pen and couldn't get to my pants pockets.The body of the shirt is more like a t-shirt than the Massif ACS so it is significantly more generous and forgiving in size. So, if you wore a 2XL in the original ACS you could get away with an XL in the Tru-Spec. It's not the same as the Massif ACS, but you're not paying for it so you're not losing anything. I give it a 4 out of 5, but only because it lacks a little in design compared to the true ACS. All-in-all its a quality product with a great deal of thought put into remedying the issues that other people have complained about, and the intrinsic design of the shirt makes it worth the investment.
Robert - March 19, 2010

Firefighter/EMT
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I bought one of these to use in the ems field and i feel it is a great shirt. They have redesigned the pockets on the sleeves so they are facing inward and easy to access and i ordered a 2XL long which accomodated for the longer arms and trunk. It still fits a little snug but overall a big improvement on the first shirts.
Chris - March 14, 2010

3X to 5X Sizes
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Start made biggest sizes, 3X, 4X, 5X, and I start bying this great combat shirt for my S.O.U. work. I order the first ones to come out for sale in black-black and urban black. S/O A. Olivari P.R. Security Police
Axel - January 1, 2010

good product
Rating: 5.0 Stars
overall great shirt. i love mine, very comfortable, very well thought out design. for those of my fellow service members that have a larger arm length, not to draw business from uscav, but i suggest trying acuarmy.com. they sell these shirts in the longer sleeve sizes.
Ryan - November 30, 2009

Good Concept That Needs Some Improvements
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I ordered this shirt with high expectations from the Tru Spec name, I've been well pleased with their ACU products from past orders. The Tru-Spec Combat shirt is yet again another great product from a very trusted name in tactical wear. The shirt is alot lighter and cooler than the normal A.C.U. Although, I perceive there to be some problems with the shirt. My normal sleeve length in a Class A longsleeve is a 34-35, depending on company and cut, and I stand at 6 foot even. I ordered the ACU/Foilage in Large and the shirt itself is a nice fitting shirt both width and length, but the sleeves are extremely short. They need to manufacture or offer this shirt with a long option. My second concern is the placement of the pockets. With them running parallel with the sleeves, north or south if you will, they are a easy to open using the zipper, but accessing things in them become a little difficult. Maybe if they are canted or tilted at an angle towards the front like the U.S. Army version. All and all I would recommend this shirt to other operators, and hope that Tru-Spec will offer it in a long version and adjust the pocket location or placement.
Sean - April 17, 2009

Medium Quality
Rating: 2.5 Stars
This shirt fits well & should be confortable under a combat vest.It does have some short commings. 1st are the sleeve pockets which are TOP OPENING. Side open would be more user friendly. With the zipper moving from rear to front.The zipper pulls are SMALL without pull tabs.I could bearly reach them with my vest loaded out. 2nd the sleeve pads are not placed properly & are to small to do any good. 3rd the sleeve cuff closer needs more velcro to function correctly. I've had this shirt modified to fit my needs. It may work fine for others without alterations.
Richard - March 29, 2009

Combat Shirt Review
Rating: 4.5 Stars
This is a very well made product for the money,it is of better quality than some of the ACU's I have been issued.It is fire resistant,cooler than an ACU top,very comfortable when wearing body armor.The only faults are-No US ARMY Star logo on the chest like the real ACS-The pockets open horizontal instead of vertical-No inkpen holders on the sleeve.Minor complaints.If your supply can't get you the real ACS this makes a really good substitute,you may not be able to wear it in garrison but out of the wire it works.Order it one size larger than your ACU top for a good fit
william - March 23, 2009

TRU Combat Shirt
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Everything about this shirt is excellent except for the very small zipper tabs. Gloves would need to be removed. They need a different style tab that is large & easy to work.
Steve - March 10, 2009

Caution, this shirt needs improvements
Rating: 2.0 Stars
This shirt is similar to crye precision combat shirt but is half as good. The neck stretches out right away and the velcro cuffs are a joke. They are way to small and do not cover the needed surface area to hold the cuffs in place. Not worth the money for 50 bucks.
brian - March 6, 2009

TRU Combat Shirt
Rating: 4.0 Stars
The shirt is very nice, the problem I have with it is the sleeves are short. I'm 6'2 205 lbs 46 chest and I first bought an XL and when it came, it was tight through the shoulders and the sleeves were short. I then exchanged it for an XXL and it fits in the shoulders but the sleeves are still short. Unless they make a long/tall version I can't say I'd buy one if your tall. If you have shorter arms then it might be right for you. It was a nice fitting and good looking shirt except for the sleeve length. I'm rating it a 4 due to sleeve length.
R - March 2, 2009

TRU Review
Rating: 3.0 Stars
I bought this to wear with our ACU's instead of the fatigue shirt, which I tuck in during missions and training. I bought a 2XL to make sure it would fit. I wear an XL. After washing per instructions, the body fit great, a little loose but it is OK. The sleeves did not shrink but are still about 2-3 inches too short. Mine did not have zipper pulls on the zippers. The shirt itself feels great against the body. The pockets are a bit awkward to get to. After getting the sleeves fixed, this should be a good shirt to wear under tactical armor.
Michael - March 1, 2009

Not bad but needs some work!
Rating: 2.5 Stars
We switched to ACU's and I wanted a combat shirt so I wouldn't have to tuck in my fatigue shirt. I am no longer in the military and could not buy one of these from Massif and the shirts on ebay are too high. This looked like a good option. I ordered a 2XL based on a review from another user. After washing and drying, it fits about right. Still a little big but if I got the smaller size, the sleeves would have been way too short. As it is, they are about 3 inches too short. No zipper pulls on my shirt and the cuff velcro strip is too narrow and not long enough. With a little work at the seamstress, this shirt will work OK.
Michael - February 25, 2009

Nice Shirt - But Not Approved for U.S. Army Wear
Rating: 2.0 Stars
This shirt looks like the real deal but please be cautioned that it is not an acceptable replacement for the issued Army Combat Shirt. This is mentioned in the video but not in writing. If you don't intend it for uniform use it appears to be a reliable alternative and it comes in some good colors for contractors. Sarmajor
A. - February 19, 2009

Size chart is needed
Rating: 3.5 Stars
I'm not an extreamly tall person, six foot four inches and the vast majority of my clothing is XL so I ordered this shirt in that size. It arrived and found the sleeves were appox. 4 inches too short. I sent it back for a 2XL, largest size possiable and the sleeves are still about 1 inch to short. Other than the size the shirt fits well and I like the pockets, fabric and layout.
David - February 10, 2009

size is odd
Rating: 3.0 Stars
I am 6 foot 5. I ordered the 2XL. The sleeves are too short. When I bend my arms, the elbows reinforcement is on my triceps. Unbent, the sleeves fall just about at my wrist. Additionally the cuffs are HUGE. You could almost pass a volleyball through the cuff. Other than that, feels nice. Hope it doesn't shrink after a wash
daniel - January 7, 2009

Best Uniform Shirt Ever Made
Rating: 5.0 Stars
My unit is using these Combat Shirts right now in both Afghanistan and Iraq. And they are alot better than having on our traditional ACU tops, they keep us cooler and thus we can accomplish our missions no sweat. Highly recommend it. US Army Ranger Spc. D. ANGEL Calderon
Daniel - December 3, 2008