Blackhawk 8 In. Warrior Wear Desert Ops Boot - Blackhawk
Blackhawk 8 In. Warrior Wear Desert Ops Boot
Average Rating: Average Rating: 4.5 Stars
Description

Lightweight, breathable, water-resistant Cordura panels and abrasion-resistant suede upper for rugged durability.
User Reviews
Great boot, but do have their limits
Rating: 4.5 Stars
In the past 5 years I have bought 2 pairs of these boots. When I got my first pair I thought that they were the best thing I ever bought in my military career. Much better than issued boots and less expensive than some of the other brands out there. But like with anything, things do break down. Wear them all day everyday, buy some new insoles. Pretty simple. So here is MY issue with My boots. These things took a beating in Afghanistan. After these boots were already good and broke in, they got to spend a lot of time in mud and water. After a few missions where we were in that slop for up to 12 hours, these things started to break down. The stitching started to tear which opened up the seams in a couple of areas. I just ordered another pair at that point. Shipped to me in country. Still wearing that same pair. Just changed the insoles not too long ago. So all in all I do love these boots. But that's just me, a Warrant with 21 years in. If you want a pair, I suggest looking at Blackhawks site for the sizing chart. These boots are a great value IMHO.
Ronald - October 20, 2014

Best boots out there
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Let me start by saying i'm a PX ranger all the way. I get made fun of for it at my unit but let me tell you, i'll take the jokes and wear these boots all day everyday. I've had a pair of these boots for over two years and they are still working strong. The part I love is that they are WATERPROOF all the way up. I was standing in water up to 7in and my feet stayed dry. That sold me on these boots and I then got two more pair. They are long lasting, and feel amazing. only thing I would say is that these are summer boots, not that great in snow for keeping your feet warm, but with the right socks they are good. But again the water proof part is great. Also, they look good too. Look good, feel good, do good.
Stephen - November 5, 2012

CPT Candelaria and Blackhawk
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Troops let me tell you this pair of boots is the best ones that I had in my 14 year career. I bought them on my last deployment to Iraq in February 2011, and the performance of this boots is great. Since the day you put this boots on you will feel the difference, they don't need to be break in. The inserts mold to your feet with every step. They are great for hot weather, I don't really know about cold because I have not used them during the winter. But I'm about to buy my second pair and I believe that I will never buy a different pair. Awesome product.
Eli - June 26, 2012

Comfortable but...
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I bought these boots for everyday/ hiking. Very comfortable right out of the box. Light weight. Tons of grip. They do fit big so I'd suggest trying them on first. Feet still feel good after a long day. Downside, after 5 months, a rip has developed on the right boot, on the seam, beside the left lowest lacing hole. I am going to see if the local shoe repair can fix them. I was wearing snow shoes when I noticed the ripe.... don't know if my snow shoes caused the ripe or not.
Shawn - February 20, 2012

Best boots yet
Rating: 5.0 Stars
These are the best boots I have tried yet. Comfortable from the moment I put them on, decent ankle support, good traction, held up well on many ruck marches and patrols. The only pair of boots I've ever had which came with a decent insole. Only downside, they are a little warm in the summer. Final summation: money well spent, my feet feel great!
Richard - November 9, 2011

Great Boots However.......
Rating: 4.0 Stars
These boots are the lightest, most comfortable, very athletic shoe like, I've ever owned or worn. No break in at all for me. I can't say if they're water proof or not as I've never had them in the rain, or been in standing water with them- other folks have said they're water proof so I'll have to run with that. I rated them at 4 stars, rather than higher for a sole reason. The soles are very soft- to the point rocks and other hard debris on the ground are very noticeable through them. I'm a contractor in Iraq, and my duty area is generally hard surface, I seldom wear body armor, and usually carry just a side arm-spare mags and a couple radios.....not much of a load really. I have to wonder how good these boots would be for serious off road humping in rough terrain- especially with a grunt like load out, given how soft and flexible the soles are. Other than that........they're a 5 star boot.
Craig - October 3, 2011

Best investment for FEET
Rating: 4.5 Stars
I have been in the Navy, worked along Marines (as a Corpsman) and now I am serving In the Army. So I been around the block with many boots. These BLACKHAWKS are the FINEST and BEST BOOTS anyone that cares about their feet can wear. SImple and straight up front, they fit true to size and cater to the feet in the same sense as athletics shoes do. They look like boots, but once they are worn you forget that you have them on and can do just about anything rigourous or demanding. I only buy these now for the past three years now and it is the only thing that i buy (since everything else is issued) for missions. I rated it a 4.5 because when on a we surface, it tends to be a slippery, and rarely(depends on the batch)I find a pair of new boots that has the soles glued poorly.
Angel - September 29, 2011

I must be on crack
Rating: 1.5 Stars
I've read all the reviews below and I'm either talking about the wrong boot (which I just went to my closet where they have been since I bought them to double check) or I got a bad batch. These boots clearly weren't designed for my feet. Out of the box I noticed instantly how uncomfortable the sole was. It had no cushion at all. It was like walking barefoot on hard concrete. The boots seemed to be constructed well but the pain in my feet and back were unbearable so i stopped using them. I'd be better off buy new insoles for these boots that appear to have none. Maybe I was expecting too much from blackhawk.
Tony - July 8, 2011

NO WAY!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
That was my initial reaction as soon as I put these boots on. I couldnt believe how comfortable they were straight out of the box. It felt like wearing a pair of tennis shoes! They were a life saver at Airborne school. Anyone that's ever been there can tell you that running all day will kill your feet. But I never had that problem with these boots. I could wear them all day. Very durable, reliable, and comfortable just put them on and go! I just had to buy a second pair. You definitely get your moneys worth. You can't go wrong! Go ahead and get yourself a pair. Highly recommended. You'll be glad you did!
Eduardo - February 13, 2011

Great for POG's, Grunts... not so much
Rating: 2.5 Stars
I got these boots on the advice on an air force buddy of mine, and why not. Reasonably priced, look pretty good cool, and blackhawk is generally a good company. Once I put them on I though WOW, these feel great. I honestly don't think I've ever had any footwear with the amount of squish in the insoles, It's like walking on pillows. Then (after about 2 months of daily wear for breaking in) I took them on a 10k hump with 60 lb ruck and I got all kinds of crazy blisters. And I went through my entire Marine Corps Career as a rifleman without a single blister. I gave them a second chance about month later on a 15k with a ruck. Even more blisters!!! I don't know if they're to soft and not supportive enough or what, but they just don't work. To top it off they're starting to fall apart too, after only 7 months of relatively light use. Not swimming in salt water or completely coating in mud or sand or any other crazy crap. All of which are things that my other boots have done regularly for much longer before encountering problems. Bottom line, there a lot like a 2 wheel drive hummer. They look rugged and are comfy on the inside, but they aren't something you'd want take off road, or tow a heavy load in. They look cool around town but not something you'd want to go to war in. Not by a long shot.
Kirk - February 11, 2011

WOW
Rating: 5.0 Stars
WOW. that pretty much sums up this boot. was a little skeptic at first, i generally dont make large purchases on clothing. a fellow soldier talked me into getting them and am i glad i did! more comfortable than most my tennis shoes. if you spend as much time in a turret or on foot patrols as i do what the heck are you waiting for, add this to your cart asap! im not one for advertising but US CAV is the *ish!! check a few other sites(wont name names) but you wont find a better deal on these, most have them for 150+.. hope this was helpful as other reviews were to me.
stevin - December 10, 2010

Good but not great
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I bought a pair, came out of the box feeling like a million bucks. But after really putting a month of continuous punishment in the field (not garrison) on them they tore the heck out of my feet. I don't get blisters easily but this boot gave them to me in spots I have NEVER gotten them before. The boot does get hot and is not the best at letting heat or moisture out. Having said this they are great boots for garrison or tactical use in an urban environment, but not the field. Be sure to try on a pair first before ordering them, they WILL stretch, especially if wet. So what feels good at first won't stay that way for long depending on your use of them. Ultimately, a good boot but only for specific areas of use. I highly recommend them, just do your homework on them and try them out.
Christopher - August 4, 2010

Too hot
Rating: 3.0 Stars
I wore my boots for 1 week now and its ok, my Oakleys are still more comfortable.The Blackhawk is very hot to wear,my feet cant breath. Idk if its the humidity here in east coast but maybe its better to wear during winter time.Overall great price on the boots and fast shipping.
M - June 29, 2010

A Great Purchase
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I just got my pair in today and was surprised at how light the box was. These boots are way better than the ones that were issued to me. It's ready to go right out of the box and almost no break in time required. The insoles are awesome and very comfortable and I see no need to replace them as I have done with my issued boots. It's light weight and they feel like tennis shoes. I'm glad I didn't wait to get a pair of these.
Jopeel - June 25, 2010

Very well made and comfortable!
Rating: 4.5 Stars
These boots are ready to wear out of the box. Very comfortable and supportive. I have wore many boots and these are one of the best! Very pleased. Well worth it. NOT a disappointment at all.
NICHOLAS - June 3, 2010

No PEER.
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Sorry to all the other bootmakers..including 5.11 and Oakley..these BLACKHAWK boots have no peer. (Zippered version as well.) Life-saving BONUS: The SOLES ARE INVISIBLY QUIET on HARD SURFACES. Buy them and get convinced. No turning back.
Zaar - June 1, 2010

STOP CHEATING YOURSELF AND TREATING YOURSELF
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Bottom line up front(BLUF) IF YOUR IN THE ARMY OR MILITARY PERIOD, ORDER THESE BOOTS NOW!!! I REPEAT, ORDER THESE BOOTS NOW!!! I'VE BEEN IN THE ARMY 21 YEARS, THESE ARE THE BEST BOOTS I EVER PUT ON MY FEET. DID I SAY ORDER THESE BOOTS. THEY COME OUT THE BOX ALREADY BROKEN IN TO YOUR FEET. THESE BOOTS ARE LIKE COLD WATER ON A HOT SUMMER DAY. THERE IS NO WAY YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED. TO BE HONEST, I THINK KOBE BRYANT COULD SCORE 45 TO 50 POINTS IN THESE BOOTS AGAINST LEBRON JAMES. ALL JOKES TO THE SIDE. GO GET THESE BOOTS!!!!!!!!!!!
BIG - March 6, 2010

Get'em
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Great boots! Very comfortable cool to hot weather and lots of padding make these a joy to walk in.
Katelyn - January 14, 2010

Great boots!!!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
My son is in the Army and I have purchased two pairs of these boots for him. He rotates them back and forth when they get wet. He has told me that these boots breaking very well in a very short period of time and are extremely comfortable and durable. They seem to be holding up very well even with some pretty extreme punishment on a daily basis. These boots are pretty light and easy to wear for long periods of time. The terrain that my son if encountering these days is cold steep mountains with occasional water, mud and ice and snow. So far these boots with warm socks have keep him more than warm enough. The boots seem to clean up easily as well. These would certainly be a recommended purchase.
David - November 25, 2009

Great Boot
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This is a great boot right out of the box. Very flexible not stiff at all. The only thing I would change which I have is the insert. For me it was way too thick in the toe area. It made it very tight even with a thin sock on. Once I went to a thinner insert they felt like a pair of tennis shoes. Size wise it seemed to be right on with what I usually wear 13W. I got the coyote tan which is not as dark as the picture shows.
Chris - October 31, 2009

Open the Box and Put Them On!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This boot was worth the wait while on back order, I am glad I waited. very comfortable and the insoles are awesome, I feel like I'm wearing a tennis shoe that is well broke in. I work in the Concrete manufacturing Industry running around in rocks, sand and mud choking on dust, the steel shank helps when you jump down on rocks and the soles have great traction. Very Quiet and easy on nice floors.
joseph - August 14, 2009

Excellent Boot
Rating: 5.0 Stars
When I bought this pair of boots six months ago, I was surprised at how light they felt on my feet. Being on my feet ten to twelve hours a day, rain or snow, cold or hot, this purchase was an excellent buy. The wear has been nominal. The hard shell material on the heel and toe is very durable and in my opinion, Indestructible so, I bought two more pair.
James - June 19, 2009

Best Boots !!!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Been through Altamas, Danners, etc., these are better and come out of the box ready to go and felt broken in from the get-go !! They've been through 1 deployment and will be bringing 2 pairs back to the sandbox in the summer. Light and very comfortable and supportive. Also water resistant. Can't ask for better boots !!! Hooahh !!!
George - April 21, 2009

Light + Comfortable = AWESOME BOOT!
Rating: 4.0 Stars
These boots are really comfortable! They are so light, that I forget they are on. They feel like tennis shoes. I have the Coyote Tan and they are not as dark as the picture...
Brian - April 15, 2009

Afghan PMT Leader
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Best boot I have worn in 28 years. Comfortable and harty in the worst of conditions. Beat them up in Afghanistan for a year and still wear them now that I have returned. Great boot!
Thomas - April 2, 2009

Simply Awesome Boots
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I purchased the black Ops Boots back in spring of 08 while I was preparing for counter-sniper school and I immediately fell in love with the boots as soon as they were on my feet. I had decent sized blisters already on my feet from my ruck marches while wearing my usual boots and when I wore these, they didnt aggrivate my blisters. Theyre extremely comfortable and waterproof (until the water reaches the top of the boot of course) but dry quickly even if water does go in. The boots held up remarkably well to constant low crawling with just slight wear on the inner side of the boot (The textured heel and two helped tremendously on traction during low crawls) and they were soft and quiet during my stalks. BUY THESE BOOTS
Estevan - April 1, 2009

Great Boots
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Last time I was in Iraq, I had the 8 inch Oakley assault boots. This time, someone persuaded me to purchase a pair of these. Right out of the box, you can't get a better boot. I highly recommend spending the money to get a pair of these!
Mark - February 22, 2009

Good comfortable boot, but
Rating: 3.5 Stars
First of all these boots are the most comfortable I have ever used and they are lightweight. There is a problem with the side stitching, I have gone through 2 pair each averaging about 3 to 4 months of constant hard use. It may be the terrain I work in, as the rocks may be scrapping the side, I don't know. My feet are my livelyhood right now, so I will continue to buy these boots because since i have started using them my feet ache less after a day of work. I rate them a 3.5 because like I said I am buying a new pair every 3 or 4 months. The vibram soles used on these boots are outstanding and grip the rocks well. If you are willing to spend the money to constantly replace these boots then I highly recommend them. As it is, I am now ordering my 3rd pair.
David - January 14, 2009

German Armed Forces Profficiency Badge
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I recently took part in the GAFPB, which included a 15.6 mile ruck march, in full uniform, weapon, and 30 lbs pack. I finished in 3h 08m 12s, I ran most of the course. I had no rub marks, blisters, or sore spots on my feet afterwards. These are absolutely the most comfortable boots I have worn in my 4 years in the Army, and a previous 4 years in the Navy. Everyone should own at least one pair of these boots.
Micah - December 2, 2008

Great Boot!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Best boots I've ever worn. No break-in necessary. I can spend all day on my feet with no problems. At the end of the day I'm not even bothered to take them off - they're that comfortable! I just wish they carried them with safety toes. S. Meredith
Scott - November 30, 2008

Great Boot!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Put about 80km into this out of the box, no problems. Hit the brecon beacons with these boots with success. Only wish was that the toe was stronger... a light weight toe kick like in the 5.11 XPRTs would been great. all in all my favorite light weight patrol boot!
Jason - November 21, 2008

BUYER BEWARE
Rating: 0.5 Stars
After reading several reviews I thought I'd found a winner.Knowing I could trust the Blackhawk name I ordered two pair of these boots...well,upon arrival I thought they looked a bit impractical..thin leather,bulky footbed,and could they really be waterproof? After One month..there shit.Footbed is cracked,leather is easily torn,guess they would still be waterproof if the leather would have held up..anyway..I should have looked at origin of assembly..MADE IN CHINA..
Ian - September 12, 2008

Best Boots By Far
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Spent the last two months doing mobilization training in the desert of Camp McGregor prior to deployment and these boost are the best I have worn. They are NOT hot, your feet DO NOT sweat, and they fit like a glove. I had developed blisters wearing another boot the second week I was here but after switching to the Desert Ops boot all is good to go. I ordered them via the web and received them in less than a week. They will be on my feet when I deploy to Iraq.
Robert - August 25, 2008

great boots
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Fantastic boots, feels like wearing a sock ! Wore them strait out of the box on the range for 10 hours a day for a week strait. Not a blister,burn or any aches or pains.. Could not believe that no break in period was required. I took a chance and just put them on. Buy them, you wont be dissappointed.
craig - August 16, 2008

Steven C.
Rating: 5.0 Stars
11 years as Light Infantry, needless to say I spend a lot of time on my feet and these boots are without a doubt the most comfortable and durable that I have ever put on.
Steven - July 1, 2008

Great For All Police Work
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I have to say the Black Ops boot has been the best footwear I've worn on duty as a police officer. Light but sturdy construction. I have never taken the time to write a review for a product. But this one is worth it. I would recommend these to any officer wanting a comfortable and well built duty boot.
Timmy - June 29, 2008

WOW!!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
These boots are well worth the price. They feel as though you are wearing light sport shoes, instead of Duty / Combat boots. Very comfortable, even right out of the box. Great investment for anyone that spends alot of time on their feet and needs good support and lightweight boots.
Wayne - May 31, 2008

The Truth
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I bought these boots approximately 3 weeks ago, and since then I have put these boots through freezing rain, mud, mountains, and pretty much anthing else you can think of. I have never been more impressed by a single piece of equipment. These boots have met all my expectations. Since this purchase I have recommended these boots to everyone I know, and a few have become believers. Thank you for such a great product! I am SSG Powell, Cavalry Scout, and I approve this message.
Chris - May 15, 2008

Happy Feet
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Many years ago I got into the military on a waver, I am flat footed. For years and years I have suffered through many disappointing boots. This is the first pair I have owned that do it for me. Well worth the money, and the wait. I plan on ordering another pair soon.
Johnston - March 3, 2008

Running Boot!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
These boots are so light you can do 15km runs in them and they are COMPLETELY water proof. Put them through a couple thousand very rough km now and they're still ticking Best boot buy to date. Best boot buy to date!
Jason - February 19, 2008

Fantastic
Rating: 4.5 Stars
These boots are the most comfortable pair of footwear I have ever worn. The soles are so well cushioned, you feel like you are bouncing along with Armstrong on the moon. Good gripping soles, waterproof works well, and I like the rubberized toe and heel. Only downside: The black boots are hot. But not hot enough to keep me from wanting to order a coyote brown pair for personal wear.
Burnard - January 14, 2008

BlackHawk does it again!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I've spent 8 years in service going from desert to jungle to hot to cold. I must say these boots have been the most amazing boots I've ever used. More comfortable than any sneaker, and able to withstand the most demanding and harshest of assignments. I will continue to purchase these unbelievable boots for years after my service ends. BTW - There is ZERO break-in time.
Gerald - December 17, 2007

Waterproof...really?
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I have these boots on my feet as I write this review from Iraq. They are extremely comfortable, and yes -- they are waterproof. That matters over here when it rains. I highly recommend these boots. From one operator to another, your feet are the only things you can depend on, so take care of them with these!
Matthew - April 12, 2007

Excellent and Versatile!
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I just wanted to say this boot is PERFECT if your looking for something lightweight, quiet, agile, and comfortable. This boot almost feels just like wearing a high top basketball sneaker, except for some slight rigidness from the nice protective strips at the toe and heal. This shoe is CLEARLY not made for smashing heads or doors in, but if you need to WALK long distances without blisters and good balance and grip, you have got to try it! I have worn these boots in casual outfits with jeans over the top and many people say 'Wow, that's an awesome looking pair of walking shoes.' They are shocked to find out they are tactical boots. The laces really do tighten up smoothly. They did surprisingly well in light snow as well!- God bless our troops with a healthy and safe homecoming! Thanks, Bill C.
william - February 24, 2007

Waterproof!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I recently purchased a pair of the black-ops version of these boots. At first look they do not appear to be waterproof, but after wearing them everyday through a rainstorm my feet were dry and comfortable. Boots are extremely light weight and perform better than they look!
Vincent - February 3, 2007

Good Solid Boots
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Tougher and warmer than they look. Wore them on a 12hour patrol right out of the box and they were awesome. Can't find a more comfortable boot out there.
richard - October 28, 2006