P-38 Can Opener - 5IVE STAR GEAR
P-38 Can Opener
Average Rating: Average Rating: 5 Stars
Description

The Army's greatest invention, the P-38 is the ultimate multi-tool. Originally developed for opening C-rations, U.S. soldiers continue to find other ways to use this ultra-portable gadget.
User Reviews
P38 - one item you should never be without
Rating: 5.0 Stars
The versatile P38 is one small item that is worth its weight. Besides the obvious use these little guys can do a lot more in a pinch. With the 10 packs now you can stow one in just about all your gear that you travel with, take to the field or at home. They are also durable if you don't lose them. I still have my original P38 that dates back to 1974 and the 10 pack will let me keep a P38 in any gear or pack I carry for whatever purpose.
Michael - February 18, 2013

MUST HAVE
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I still have the first one I got in Vietnam in 1968 (45 years ago!). It is on my key chain. It has gone through airport security in the USA, Europe and Mexico numerous times with no problems. If you don't have one, get one. It is a must have item.
ROSS - February 17, 2013

kamper
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I gave away my P38 years ago, and regretted it ever since. I just got the 10 pack I ordered, I'll never do without this handy little tool again!
Michael - June 14, 2010

The only can opener you'll ever need
Rating: 5.0 Stars
The P-38 is the only can opener I still have after thirty years because it is the only one that still works.
Alfred - March 30, 2009

Great Item, don't be caught without one
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This is a truly great piece of military equipment. I always have one tucked in my ruck or on my keychain. At one of our field exercises some of my buddies were ripping open their MREs and sometimes the contents would fall out onto the ground or in some cases fly across the room. I told them to try my handy p-38 and their eyes lit up, apparently many young military personnel have never seen one of these. Being an third generation Army brat i recommend every soldier have one.
Michael - January 24, 2009

P - 38
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I had a P - 38 since basic training (77) and I lost it in 2001 I used it for camping, hiking, hunting, fishing and for picnics when I foreget to bring a can opener. I sure do miss it alot. They are GREAT to have in a Survival Kit or in a Vehicle Survival Kit or even when traveling.
Frank - January 4, 2009

must have
Rating: 5.0 Stars
ive found another use a leter opener . it realy is a must have :)
Daniel - September 21, 2008

Little Buddy
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Just a note. I have carried my P-38 on my keychain since Vietnam, 42 years ago. Would never be without it. It has served me well on numerous occasions over the years, and to the sometimes amazement of those watching it in action. Fellow Vets easily recognize it. My Little Buddy!
Clayton - August 16, 2007

Mighty Mini Metal Machine
Rating: 5.0 Stars
This little tool is a must have and GET THE TEN PACK because you will want to put one in your car, desk drawer, survival kit, canteen cover tablet pouch as well as give one or two away. One good tip is to carry one on your keychain with a small piece of tubing used as a cover to keep it from snagging in your pocket. Like the M-2 50 Caliber Heavy Machine Gun and the 1911 45 pistol, this item was made perfect decades ago and will be around for decades to come.
William - January 27, 2007