Tru-Spec GI Spec 3-Day Back Pack - TRU-SPEC
Tru-Spec GI Spec 3-Day Back Pack
Average Rating: Average Rating: 3.5 Stars
Description

Holds everything you will need for multiple days in the field. Three-day pack comes in woodland pattern, black, tan or ACUPAT to match the new ACU.
User Reviews
not for combat
Rating: 1.5 Stars
well when i got this back pack i used it for school, well i have 6 subjects so that means i have 6 book. Its about 40 pounds i used this back pack for about 2 months when, it started to fall apart from the straps then the straps themselves started to fall apart dont waist your money on this back pack it will only fail you in the end and you will be out $70 bucks. so do what you want but i do not think its worth it.
travon - December 7, 2010

Good for light use...
Rating: 3.0 Stars
I got this pack sometime around last April and used it on a daily basis since, for travelling, limited military-style training, and everyday school/cargo uses. Two months after I got it the left shoulder strap started coming apart and started fraying, but I just put a lighter to it and hastily stitched it back together. Now it's a lot worse, and the whole strap feels like it's just about to fall apart, and I have to really worry about it every time I put it on. It's served me well for the past 9 months, but I think its time for a new pack. I don't even want to think about how bad it would be if I were to take it to war or deploy with something like this.
Micah - February 12, 2010

DON'T BUY THIS P.O.S.
Rating: 0.5 Stars
One use, first time, half load... and the side blows out. Turns out that it's single stitched (not reinforced) and will break in the breeze. Also the buckles are the cheapest possible thin plastic and wont bear any load. Buy this only if it's for a Halloween costume and will never see any real use.
Nathan - October 12, 2009

Good.... For light loads
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Filled this pack with laptop, PSP, camelbak bladder and some hygiene gear and popped the stitching where the straps are sewn in. It was still usable but I had to watch how much I loaded it. Have since replaced it with a Camelbak pack. Moral: Get something else if your going to load heavy.
Josiah - September 20, 2009

COMMSPEC
Rating: 4.0 Stars
I have to agree with Corey. It's a great pack that has went to some nasty places with me but I have also broken a plastic snap on the sholder harness. For teh price it can't be beat. Alot of room, alot of pockets. Well worth the money. I would suggest having a parts area. I had a hard time finding just teh right snap, even at a mega-sporting goods store.
Timothy - May 13, 2009

Not a good bag
Rating: 0.5 Stars
I purchased this bag to take with me on deployment to Iraq. If you are looking for a high quality bag you will probably be disappointed. My civilian backpack is a Northface. This bag is made out of nylon-not Cordura nylon and therefore it is less resistant to water and daily use. The bag has two large compartments and no padding other than the padding resting against your back so it has no shape to it when it is empty. The zippers are not YKK and not heavy duty. You do get what you pay for- correct that this bag is not worth $77.99. Go to www.pipergear.com and purchase their 5016 ACU Bugout bag the regular price is $124 and members of the military can purchase it for $92.08. It is made of 1000 D Cordura, has YKK zippers, bladder compartment, laptop compartment and organizer.
RSL - April 17, 2009

D
Rating: 4.0 Stars
Good bag. Wouldn't recommend or plan on using it out in the field. Was testing out how it feels with weight in the bag, when i went to take it off I had one arm out and i started to hear threads snapping on the shoulder that was still supporting the bag. Great for travel tho.
David - December 19, 2008

Not very durable or defective
Rating: 2.0 Stars
I bought one in August 07 and hardly used it. If I did, I used it to lug around gear and that's it. So far the right shoulder strap has ripped off, and some of the webbing became undone. Aside from the belt, the quick release buckles break if you toss the backpack around (even if there is nothing in it) I don't know if all the packs have the same problem, or if I just got one from a bad batch with the last guy.
Alex - August 10, 2008

Really, Really Great Bag
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I got this bag because all of my other bags were wore out. When I got this bag I got send to Iraq for 1 year, and very day I use this bag I put it through hell and its still in very good shape. Thank you Us Cavalry
Jesse - June 23, 2008

Good Pack, bad straps
Rating: 5.0 Stars
The pack was great and did a good job for me. But it's not rugged enough. I loaded it up with some weight and put it to its limit, and the strap broke. Can only handle limited weight and a limited amount of abuse. Not recommended for field operations.
Christopher - February 23, 2008

Good bag if you get one that doesn't fall apart
Rating: 1.5 Stars
The bag is an decent bag if its working. Its pretty long compared to a normal civilian back pack, looks good, and has a good amount of molle points. The problems I ran across is one of the compression strap buckles will not hold if I pull any pressure on it. Also, the right shoulder strap is now coming off at the top with less than 20 bag uses total.
Joseph - February 13, 2008

poor straps
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I had this bag for less than a year and the stitching for the straps tore. I rigged the straps with 550cord in order for it to last out during my last FTX.
Rishi - February 7, 2008

Not Good for Combat Operations
Rating: 0.5 Stars
RT shoulder strap brooke and not a year in use try to fix it and it keeps on brakin I wont recommend this bag for a Grunt it will brake once you put a good load on it. Now I am looking for another bag that it will do the job that us as Soldiers need.
Julio - August 28, 2007

Great Pack!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
So I have had this pack for about a year now and it has been amazing. I have dragged it through hell and back with training and every day use. There are two things that bother me. 1 The clips that adjust the strap lengths and the quick snap clips are plastic, let me tell you they are easy to break, throw the bag around during patrol or mission and have someone step on them with combat boots or just drop it the wrong way and you need replacements. 2. all the straps are great and most are detachable, but some I still cant figure out the purpose of so some sort of instructions would be great. This pack is a great buy for anyone in need of a rugged bag, infact im about to buy a second!
Corey - July 20, 2007

Awesome Pack
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I just received my GI Spec and it has been one of the best purchases ive made in along time, its so handy to have when hiking and back packing it can hold basically anything you need to take with, it is very strong and very reliable. Money well spent.
bradley - May 18, 2007

Perfect Pack For The $$$
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I bought this pack to take with me mountain climbing recently and was just amazed with how much you can do with it. It held everything I could possibly need while still maintaining a good comfort level. The MOLLE compatibility makes this pack so much more versatile and the ton's of straps makes a big difference as well. Definately money well spent.
Justin - February 4, 2007

10 stars back Pack
Rating: 5.0 Stars
There's no need to pat $150 for a good Back Pack! This GI Spec 3-Day Back Pack is good enough if you are not a SEAL :) It's nice and durable with a solid costruction. Great pack!
buscemi - January 26, 2007

Top Quality
Rating: 5.0 Stars
I received this bag in only 2 days! Great shipping time and the bag is more than I expected. Tons of room, tons of pockets, and this bad is solid. I've taken this bag through hell and back already and I am glad I made the investment. Definitely worth the money. Solid construction. Keep it up USCAV!
Sean - November 3, 2006

Best pack for the money
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Lots of room, very well made. Love the pack even though I personally don't care for the sternum straps: get trapped under the shoulder straps every time I put the pack on so I cut them off. I also use velcro (for electrical cords) to tidy up the loose straps. SUPPORT OUR TROOPS!!
quandcng - September 21, 2006

OORAAH
Rating: 5.0 Stars
love the pack, nice and roomy. still comfortable. very durable as well! im sure it will last many years. SEMPER FI
Fernando - September 2, 2006

Great Pack!!!
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Looking for a pack that had MOLLE capabilities, big enough to carry my field gear...yet inexpensive (in comparison to others out there). I got it all in this pack. I was able to load this baby out (to my amazement) and still feel comfortable with the shoulder straps. I took this through an airport and had someone comment on it. I recommend this pack to anyone...though keep an eye out for loose straps.
Robert - August 2, 2006

Great pack
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Wanted a new back pack for civilian overnight to two day travel that had to be durable. I noticed an active duty soldier at an airport with this bag and asked how I could get one and he told me to try this site. Being an ex soldier myself I figured I couldn't go wrong if I purchased it. I was right! Plenty of room and with the durability I wanted. I love it and will use it for years to come. Great pack!
David - July 21, 2006